Skip to content

I didn’t see that coming………..

May 30, 2009

Yesterday I went to Target – for those of you who have never been to a Target store, let me explain. Target is a huge building/store with everything from toilet paper to milk in gallon jugs to stereos to diamond earrings (okay, maybe it’s cubic zirconium). It is overstocked with items that most of us could absolutely live our entire lives without. It is clean, well-lit, and very organized. It is also inexpensive by American standards. There is a parking lot out front that can accommodate probably 200 cars at least. The cars are parked so that no other car is blocked in and they are parked/driven by their owners. I have missed Target very much.

So I went to my little happy place called Target and I found a lot of things I was hoping to find. Yeah for me.

I got in line to check out and I met Om. He was the cash register clerk.

(By the by, here is another thing that is different about the U.S. and India and I keep forgetting to mention it – when you check out in a store in India – they hand write the receipt and add it themselves – that’s right – they hand write every item and then add it up – often in their head. In America, the clerks use a scanner to tally every item and the computer adds it all up – you get a printout from the computer as your receipt. Very different. And, yes, some stores in India have computer registers – but seriously, not many.)

So anyOm. I meet Om. He has an accent that I think I recognize and I ask him where he is originally from. India. I knew it.

Where? Please say Delhi.

New Delhi. Yahoo.

I tell him we live there, that we are home visiting, blah blah blah.

And we exchange notes on Delhi and thoughts on living as an expat away from home. I don’t think he really believed me at first and asked me a couple of questions to find out what I knew. It was kind of funny. But I must have passed the test.

He moved to the U.S. with teenagers in 1988. When his job was finished he moved back to India but his children (then in college) said no thank you. We like it here. WTH?

He found a way back to the U.S. to be with his family and he is now a citizen. He said it was hard with green cards/immigration and he struggled quite a bit. But he feels that good fortune brought him to the U.S. and he is proud to call it home. Congratulations Om!

Seriously, now I am bonding with my Indian brethren at Target? This has come full circle.

And, not for nothing, I bought pants from Bangledesh, which is right beside India – actually India is on both sides of Bangledesh. So they exported pants to the U.S., so that I could buy them, and ship them to India. Hysterical, right?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharmishtha permalink
    June 1, 2009 9:04 pm

    Well, AR2W, now you have your $2500 Target pants (Bangladesh-USA-India). Take that, Yves St. Laurent!

  2. June 1, 2009 10:39 am

    Target is planning operations in India but smaller retailers are really scared of losing all business to the big store, so there is a lots of opposition.
    I love target!

  3. June 1, 2009 8:05 am

    Well, it’s pretty hard to find anything that’s made in America these days. Target probably started in China.

  4. May 31, 2009 10:45 pm

    Hehe..what a cute incident! And I myself find it very funny when I buy stuff and it has a “Made in India” label inside.

  5. Tottsmom permalink
    May 31, 2009 4:55 pm

    If I knew anything about starting a blog I could probablly do so with my life over the last month. Long story short, went on Mexican Riviera cruise. After three days on board they decided to turn the boat around and head for San Fransisco. They did it for our health and safety, they did not want us to catch the swine flu. Never mind the fact that I packed bathing suits and sarongs for sunny Mexico, NOT raincoats and sweatshirts for San Fran. Anyhow, they were nice enough to let us get off the boat in LA a few days early. My honey and I salvaged what we could of our vacation and went to SanDiego for a few days but still got home early. I went and picked up the kids a day early and on the way home got REAR ENDED. A few aches and pains, but the suprise of it all is my wrist. Looks like I be headed to the ortho doc in the next week or so. Yeah ME! :-). It has been a good learning experience, at least for the kids. lol. learning how to do the dishes, take out the trash, sweep the porch. All that fun stuff Mom cannot do right now.

  6. Swati permalink
    May 31, 2009 9:06 am

    That was a nice read, my S-I-L is Irish, once we went to Target together and she really liked a beautiful cotton shirt- $ 39 (made in India), we looked at the label, took a picture of it and asked our cousins back home to send something similar- we received 2 shirts for $ 12 :).
    I am Indian, residing in US, when I go to Target, I am amazed at the ridiculous amount of money people here pay for trivial stuff 🙂
    ~ Swati

  7. May 31, 2009 6:50 am

    Badass – it was quite the circle

    Rola – hey you – yeah, he was very nice

    Naomi – you must be getting a little nutty – I hope all is going well!

    Tottsmom- did I miss something? A wreck – my brain is mush – I hope you are ok!

    Mike – Hi there – welcome to my little corner of the blog world – I had forgotten that Adam works for Target – please tell him that the expats in India would love to see a Target in Delhi!

  8. MIKE D permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:13 am

    That was interesting story. Michelle’s husband Adam works for Target at Corporate headquarters in Minneapolis, MN

    Mike D

  9. Tottsmom permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:02 am

    I like Target, and yes, sometimes have to convince myself I don’t REALLY need to buy XYZ item, even if it is really cool. Sorry I have not said much lately. Still recovering from the wreck and typing is hard to do with a brace on your wrist. lol. oh well. Have a great summer.

  10. May 30, 2009 9:54 am

    I love it!

    It’s like when you buy a new car … and it’s a make/model you’ve never paid much attention to before … then all of a sudden you see those cars EVERYWHERE!

    The world is truly a small place!

  11. Rola permalink
    May 30, 2009 8:32 am

    Great story. I see the guy you are talking about at Target all the time. Gotta love Target:)

  12. May 30, 2009 6:42 am

    That is quite the circle. Neat story!

Leave a Reply

