Skip to content

Overwhelmed……

May 23, 2009

Have you ever looked back at some point in your life and realized that you have just taken some things and some people for granted? Welcome to my world.

After about 26 hours in transit, we arrived home. Really home. There were banners on our door. Handwritten messages etched in chalk in our driveway. Flowers in the kitchen. Welcome home cards and presents in each of the kids rooms. Hamburger and a full gallon of milk in the refrigerator. Apples and bananas in the fruit bowl. An entire meal waiting. Ice and popsicles in the freezer. Cereal, goldfish, fruit roll-ups, and so much more in the pantry. Toilet paper on the front steps. Blue skies, no heat, and no humidity. And about 15 kids waiting in the driveway for Bear, Flower, and Angel to arrive home.

Our friends wrapped their big ole hearts around us and welcomed us back. It was (almost) as if we never left. It was clear they knew us well because everything we have been missing was waiting at our house for us. Including friends and family. I was never more homesick than the moment I walked in our front door. It is good to be back. Really, really good.

Living in India has been a wonderful adventure and we are enjoying our time there. But, seriously, there is just no place like home.

You may wonder how things seem now that we are back. Here are just a few of the things that I have noticed/done.

When I took my first shower here, I filled my mouth up with water and spit it out – several times. Just knowing that the water here is safe to brush your teeth with and drink is so wonderful.

We went to the grocery store and were amazed by the variety of items available. I noticed how many parking lots America has – India doesn’t really have parking lots. I bought baby carrots that are already peeled and washed in a bag. I bought cheese that has already been shredded. And I bought naan (Indian bread). I carried my own groceries to the car and enjoyed putting them away all by myself.

I have enjoyed cooking my own food and washing my own dishes and not explaining to anyone how I want it done.

The smell of the clothes in the dryer stopped me in my tracks.

My kids watched tv and understood every commercial.

I have driven myself and knew exactly where to go. It is a treat to have that sense of independence back.

Queso has given me my scratchy cat kisses and purred in my ear.

I have been hugged and kissed and taken more deep breaths than I have in four months.

I have sat on the front porch and watched my kids reconnect with their life long friends as if they had only been gone for 4 hours – not 4 months.

It has been an amazing 48 hours and I am soaking in every second.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. bindu permalink
    May 26, 2009 10:18 am

    Hey I was looking for some pics of your driveway…I missed coming there but was hoping to get the pics… 🙂

  2. May 26, 2009 8:13 am

    I can only imagine how great that must feel!

  3. May 26, 2009 6:08 am

    Munchkins Mom – Thank you
    Lola – you have no idea – OMG! – and Queso has been kissed 😎
    Donna – Pasta and Nacho are still in Delhi – it’s too much to take them back and forth
    Tushar – thanks so much – that means a lot – I am so glad you are following along!
    Tottsmom – thanks
    Caitlin – it is good to be home
    Baba – indeed
    Naomi – it is so fabulous! Have safe journeys! I look forward to reading about your trips!
    DW – welcome – it is amazing – even a few miles can seem galaxies away from home
    PamJ – See you very soon!

  4. pamj permalink
    May 25, 2009 5:37 pm

    good 2 have u back 🙂

  5. pamj permalink
    May 25, 2009 5:37 pm

    welcome back my friend!!

  6. May 25, 2009 10:11 am

    I can only imagine…indeed..sounds like a great homecoming. I can see, in your description above, the vast differences between the First world and the so-called Third world. And the cultural diversity and differences. The language (and the tone/slangs) makes such a difference..My own experience (though I am from the same Third World and very near to India) could be an example. Even though I speak the language that shares the script with Hindi (and understand it almost 85 percent), I still aspire to hear conversations in my own Nepali language (its slangs and its tone). Have a nice time 🙂

  7. May 24, 2009 2:24 pm

    Oh welcome home, friend. Soak it ALL up … and then soak it up some more.

    What a wonderful way to ‘come home’ … overwhelmed, I’m sure!

    I’m going to do my best to ‘soak up’ the driving, the smell of clothes in the dryer and the blue skies and fresh air ALL I can!! Think we can figure out a way to bottle that?

  8. May 24, 2009 12:08 pm

    There really is no place like home. So glad you had such a warm welcome! Enjoy your time.

  9. Caitlin permalink
    May 24, 2009 10:07 am

    I’m so happy for you and your family that you’ve had such a wonderful welcome home!! Enjoy your time with friends and family!

  10. Tottsmom permalink
    May 24, 2009 9:33 am

    Welcome home.

  11. Tushar permalink
    May 24, 2009 8:59 am

    I guess you’ve become reallly popular……I’ve watched your # of visits shoot up from 10,000 to 20,000 and now 30,000+. Your writing style reflects a certain sense of geniality and a feeling as if we’ve known you since ages. One thing that’s almost become a habit with me is checking out your blog whenever I switch on the net. Even at the airport in Dubai when I was waiting for my flight back home (India) I did have a look at your blog. It is interesting to see a new perspective to things which have become very common to us with time. Cheers and have a nice day!

  12. May 23, 2009 10:55 pm

    Welcome Home!

    I bet Queso was so excited to see ya’ll! What are your other cats doing? Did I miss your answer about them?

  13. May 23, 2009 10:44 pm

    I can only imagine how great it is to be back in your own home with all of your friends and family around. I’m so glad you’re all having such a great time doing the little things we all take for granted, like drying laundry and driving yourself to the grocery store.

    Oh, and you’ve got some great people in your life to have made your homecoming so special! Give that Queso a kiss for me!

  14. May 23, 2009 9:36 pm

    What a wonderful welcome, from your thoughtful friends. Welcome back 🙂

Leave a Reply

