Skip to content

17 years and counting (aka – the war of the roses)………..

April 26, 2009

This weekend, number one hubby and I “celebrated” our 17th wedding anniversary. Blink. When did that happen? Not really sure – but it’s been a good ride. I still like him a lot and he continues to put up with me. And ever since I started blogging he has officially recognized that I can be funny. We really make each other laugh and smile. We probably have at least another 17 years in us.

This is the song that makes me think of him – it’s I don’t want to miss a thing – by Aerosmith.

I say “celebrated” because number one hubby went to work, Bear had a track meet, we hosted two visiting athletes from Katmandu, Flower and Angel went with me to a craft fair – it was a little “un”anniversary like.

And if you know me at all, you’ll understand that I am not exactly all over hiring a babysitter in a foreign country to watch my kids so that hubby and I can pay way too much for a dinner out. Yeah, Laxmi made butter chicken for us and I am good with that.

There isn’t really much that either of us wanted, so gift giving pretty much went to the back burner, too. I am also good with that. I know the men are rolling their eyes here – but really – I don’t like gifts just for the sake of gifts. Hubby is generous anytime I want something – I don’t have to wait for anniversaries and birthdays. See how that works? It’s better that way.

Number One Hubby loves fresh flowers and he is especially fond of lillies. I did not want our day to go unnoticed so I got him these. They are from the flower stand in our neighborhood and they are really beautiful.

img_8449

And so began the parade of flowers and gifts. The war of the roses.

Number One Hubby’s office sent this cake. It came one day early, so I had to promise that we would cut it at midnight. We cut it and I am sure it was midnight (somewhere). It was delish.

img_8394

Then came this elephant pot from Number One Hubby’s assistant. It is tres cool. Number One Hubby had actually been looking at these – we love it! (Before you fall out of your chair, remember that the swastika here is an auspicious symbol – it has nothing to do with all that Nazi hate baloney. It is a lovely symbol here and it is often drawn out in fresh flowers. So, just to be clear, we are not joining the Third Reich – we are just being wished much love and happiness.)

img_8407

Then came these from our driver….

img_8432

and these from Ravi – the rock star who cleans our house….

img_8431

And then these from the travel group that coordinates number one hubby’s travel…..

img_8423

Deepak sent these……….

img_8427

Number One Hubby’s admin staff sent these – yep, we ran out of vases, glasses, and anything that could hold liquids, so these are in the blender.

img_8442

But before all of these arrived, hubby decided to surprise me. He ordered 17 vases and 17 dozen roses. Yep, you read that right. 17 of each. While, I was dropping off our visiting athletes and Bear for warmups at the track meet, Number One Hubby, the real Flower, and Angel worked their little florist fingers to the bone. They arranged 17 dozen roses all throughout the house.

img_8411

Some of the vases are lined with rice paper that creates this very artsy mosaic look. Hubby says the paper will eventually dissolve – but until then – fabulouso!

img_8430

These are just closeups of some of the other flowers – but I thought they were fun. So, you get to see them too.

img_8435

img_8438

img_8446

And yes, you are absolutely right, I am very lucky!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Tottsmom permalink
    May 3, 2009 11:06 am

    Congrats! 17 years is a goodly number these days, but boy does it go by FAST. Don’t blink or the next 17 will be gone before you know it. ENJOY!!

  2. pamj permalink
    April 30, 2009 7:23 am

    am a little late… HAPPY 17!!! you are a wonderful wife, mother & friend!!

  3. April 28, 2009 8:32 am

    Linda – they were so pretty

    Deep – it is a lot!

    Settlers – they did not last super long – so bugs should be okay. 😎

    Lola – we do – but there is always room for flowers

    Oma – yeah I know – that was our wedding song – but I love that song too – even tho steve tyler is a little scary – you have given hubby a lot 😎

    Heather – 17 and counting – we are going for (at least) 17 more.

    Can I Remain – thank you!

    Pam – thanks – I was thinking some of those pictures might make fun cards. 😎

    Deewane – it is heavenly

    Lynn – thank you !

  4. Lynn permalink
    April 28, 2009 7:25 am

    Congratulations! That is AWESOME! Great pictures. What a wonderful memory.

  5. deewane permalink
    April 27, 2009 8:41 pm

    Congratulations, your place must smell like heaven right now 🙂

  6. Pam permalink
    April 27, 2009 8:17 pm

    WOW… I can’t believe how many different sets of flowers you got. That is AWESOME! They are all gorgeous! And, 17 dozen… Number 1 hubby rocks. Good for him, you deserve them all!! And, you did a great job with the photos. I miss you, my friend! 😉

  7. CanIRemainUnknownPl permalink
    April 27, 2009 6:47 pm

    Congrats, wish you many more anniversaries like this!!!

  8. April 27, 2009 12:26 pm

    Oh my gosh, 17 years is wonderful. You seem very happy. =)

  9. Oma permalink
    April 27, 2009 10:49 am

    What happened to the song ” I can”t make it without you”
    Just kidding I know that is both of yours song….

    Hubby 1 gets his need to explore from me….I hope so anyway….but I do know his love of flowers comes from me…My mother loved flowers…

    What a nice time and to share it with us…Thanks you for that…

    Oma

  10. April 27, 2009 9:39 am

    Holy crap! 17 dozen, plus all those other flowers? I thought you had a small place.

    Congrats on your anniversary!!!!

  11. April 27, 2009 9:20 am

    Wow…..congrats.

    Keep the bugs away. 😉

  12. April 27, 2009 8:54 am

    That is a LOT of flowers…congrats!

  13. Linda permalink
    April 27, 2009 3:07 am

    Wow….that is awesome……there are some benefits of being here in India!!!

  14. April 26, 2009 10:35 pm

    Badass – oh Badass you have so much to learn – hubby waters them – hee hee – and you should know by now that I am not so big on the higher math – I will take your word for it that that’s how many flowers there are. 😎

    Naomi – how are you all doing

    Caitlin – I think they just might get that chance 😎

    Nancy – you too girlfriend!

    Baba – number one indeed

    Kathleen – Happy Birthday

    Loco – where have you been? Stop crying and start writing. 😉

  15. April 26, 2009 7:21 pm

    I’m welling up here at work…that is soooo sweet!
    Yes, the two of you are lucky to have one another and after 17 years the romance is still alive…now I need some tissue
    CONGRATS!!! (And many many more)

    Loco

  16. Kathleen permalink
    April 26, 2009 2:56 pm

    WOW how fabulous! And might I add, what a great weekend for an anniversary (or birthday as it pertains to me)…

    happy anniversary! here’s wishing you many more!

  17. April 26, 2009 1:44 pm

    No wonder you call him #1 hubby! Fabulous!

  18. Nancy permalink
    April 26, 2009 10:24 am

    Happy Anniversary! You deserve every one of those roses. So glad that you are being loved.

  19. Caitlin permalink
    April 26, 2009 10:23 am

    Wow! Happy Anniversary! I so want my husband to meet your husband:)

  20. April 26, 2009 9:44 am

    Happy 17th Anniversary you two!

  21. April 26, 2009 6:51 am

    OH

    MY

    WORD

    Number One Hubby rocks…. You rock … and those flowers? Divine!!!

    I love that everyone took such notice of your anniversary (your driver, his office staff) … way cool!

    Happy Anniversary, you two!

  22. April 26, 2009 5:52 am

    17 dozen flowers? As in 204 individual flowers?

    You’re going to spend half the day just watering them!

    Congrats on the anniversary!

Leave a Reply

