Skip to content

This is (kind of) funny………….

April 24, 2009

Upon hearing that we were moving to India, I got a boat load of questions – the two most common were by far….

Do cows really roam the streets there and aren’t you going to have like a million people working in your house?

The answer to number one quickly revealed itself as YEP, they sure do.

And number two was – well, not exactly a million.

Now, if you are used to doing most of your own housework, shopping, cooking, driving, and cleaning, having a “staff” initially sounds very appealing. And once you get the right staff, it is really nice in many ways. But there are shortcomings and some of them make me laugh.

Here is what happened today.

As I have mentioned, we just got a new cook. So far she rocks. She made homemade chocolate chip cookies today. Sweet mother of chocolate chip God. They were fabulous. Yes, they WERE, because we have almost completely polished off the entire double batch. And yes, by saying we, I really mean me. And, yes, I promise not to complain about gaining weight later. Pinky swear.

Oh wait, before I can pinky swear, I have to lick this chocolate off of my pinky. There. Okay, now, I pinky swear.

Laxmi is also doing laundry for us. And putting laundry away. Enter the funny part.

I wear tank tops under my shirts because it is too flippin hot here for a bra with padding and/or underwire. My 10-year old daughter also wears tank tops as a pajama top. So does my 12-year old son – as an undershirt.

Do you see where this is going? I have never been accused of being well endowed – even pregant, I was a member in good standing of the little bitty committee. But, even if you are fully aware and even accepting of reality, it is not exactly a boost to your ego when the person who puts your clothes away confuses your tank tops with your son’s and daughter’s tank tops. Really, truly it is not.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 7:11 am

    I’ve always been on that committee, too ;(

  2. April 25, 2009 4:39 am

    alwaysindian – welcome and thanks!

    Badass – shhhhhhh 😎

    Nancy – really and truly!

    Naomi – uh oh – I hope everything is ok.

  3. April 24, 2009 6:04 pm

    Oh girl … I needed a laugh … sorely needed a laugh (blog post to explain it will come after I quit crying).

    Funny stuff, maynard.

  4. Nancy permalink
    April 24, 2009 12:43 pm

    Really…truly… πŸ™‚

  5. April 24, 2009 10:15 am

    tottsmom – don’t you care about me with missing the caffeine? hee hee – actually don’t ask – I have not made much progress.

    M2thes – my understanding of the British school is that they are actually located on Indian soil which means they can only hire 10% non-Indian hires – and they don’t have all the liberties to follow the British education systems because they have to adhere to Indian law – this is just what I have heard – we do not attend that school so maybe someone that reads can help you out more.

  6. m2thes permalink
    April 24, 2009 9:50 am

    aye i guess im “sorry to steal a thread” because thats what i THINK im doing? but yeah
    aye…..
    do you know anyone going to the british school …im leaning more to that school because of the affordibility factor… but if AES is soo much better i would send them there..but i havn’t talked to any1 from the british school so yeah.
    if you know anyone that goes there, let me know..that would be much appreciated…..
    I would really appreciate it if i could talk to some1 from the IB area of cirriculum….(11th grade)

    Cheers!

    • 2green permalink
      April 25, 2009 6:28 pm

      Check out WOODSTOCK SCHOOL located in Mussoorie, Uttaranchal. It’sa few hours outside from delhi and has a very good reputation. It’s consistently been ranked as one of the best schools in India and Asia for a few years now. THey have students and staff from all over the world, India, Nepal, S.Korea, America, Bhutan, Canada, England, you name it.

  7. Tottsmom permalink
    April 24, 2009 9:41 am

    Sorry to steal a thread, but hey HEATHER? How is the caffine free life going? Just wanted to know. I nosey that way πŸ™‚

  8. Tottsmom permalink
    April 24, 2009 9:40 am

    ROFL!

  9. April 24, 2009 7:35 am

    Wouldn’t it have been worse if you had worn it and then realized after the fact?

  10. April 24, 2009 1:51 am

    hehhehe.. funny indeed! nice blog btw…

Leave a Reply

