Skip to content

Some updates……….

April 21, 2009

Just a few random updates in case you are wondering…….

We now have Laxmi cooking for us. Monday she made chicken enchilladas and last night roast beef. She is a very good cook and has a sweet disposition. I think she might be a keeper. She made homemade bread yesterday and has promised to make cookies today. YAHOOO!

Our allergies are really bothering all of us. It does not rain here much at all – yeah, I know, just wait until June.

You hear a lot about malaria when you are coming to India – but Denge fever seems to be at least as big of a worry. Yeah, that’s great.

I have two blog friends who are moving here this summer – one from Ohio and one from France. Yes, I think that is very cool. I have encouraged them both to bring bug spray.

Some of my college friends in the U.S. got together for dinner the other night and ate spinach dip in my honor. I miss them! They also drank wine. Damn them.

spinach-dip1

I offered to write for a magazine here that caters to expats – wasn’t that nice of me – yes, I will definitely let you know how that goes.

It is time for me to give up caffeine again. Yes, my blogs might become a little cranky. Bear with me.

Today at school is earth day. No classes for the middle schoolers – just a whole lot of eco-friendly things like:

Making puppets out of (clean) trash
I think they also made a game
A swim/walk/yoga/or dance-a-thon
A eco-friendly mela (craft Fair) with mostly products made from recycled materials
(one of the vendors makes paper out of elephant poop – no, I am not clear on why that is necessary, but yes, I am going to check it out – maybe from a distance)
Several presentations re: the environment
Trash free lunch day – everyone has to bring a lunch that leaves no trash behind

Yes, it is all very cool. My children are really becoming more global thinkers.

That’s all I have right now. See you tomorrow.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 12:34 pm

    Woot, woot, Laxmi!!! She sounds awesome. When I gave up coffee, I had the massive headaches, too. Maybe wean yourself off with green tea.

  2. April 22, 2009 8:40 pm

    I gave up caffeine almost 2 weeks ago, and had a headache for a solid week. I felt better so far this week, but only just now coming out of some serious lethargy! lol

  3. Tottsmom permalink
    April 22, 2009 9:09 am

    My sister sends her husband and daughter with a trash free lunch almost everyday. The 7 year old loves it and has NO problem bring home the containers. Her hubby on the other had has already tossed a few. I guess I had better get to making the trash free lunch for today as my 6 year old has been bugging me for over a week about Earth day.

    Glad to hear you found a cook.

    Happy Earth Day

  4. Kathleen permalink
    April 22, 2009 8:32 am

    wow those wrap n mat things look pretty cool! Now to train the kids to remember to NOT throw them away…

  5. April 22, 2009 8:01 am

    Kathleen – jumping in to say … I’ve been considering buying a stockpile of these: http://www.wrap-n-mat.com/index.php – – seem pretty cool, I think.

  6. Kathleen permalink
    April 22, 2009 7:57 am

    wow that trash free lunch day sounds hard! I can’t imagine what I would bring that doesn’t have/make trash…what do you wrap a sandwich in?

    I too may be moving to India (Pune)! I got an offer and am just working out the details of my package. I may contact you directly if I have questions, would that be ok?

  7. naomihattaway permalink
    April 22, 2009 7:57 am

    Yay for Laxmi! Can I borrow her when we get there? (kidding)

    Husb had Dengue fever before and said its brutal (not sure how you spell that) – – bug spray is ON the list (as is baby wipes, yes you’ve told me to bring them)

    So does the school close on the Indian holidays? Just curious.

    Allergies – had NOT given that one iota of a thought. Are you talking about outdoor/seasonal kind of allergies? Maybe need to look into adding Zyrtec to my Costco shopping list?

    Can’t wait to hear more about the magazine gig!! Yay!

    You sound tired.

Leave a Reply

