Skip to content

and now I know……..

April 21, 2009

When your family and closest friends live on the other side of the planet, it is important to know what time it is here and there. Right now, my U.S. home is 9 and 1/2 hours behind my Indian home.

Today I found out why.

India is 1,000 kilometers wide (I think it was km, not milesΒ  – I might need to check that.) Apparently, it really should be in two time zones – but instead they split the difference. So rather than the right side being an hour ahead and/or the left side being an hour behind – they met in the middle at the half hour mark.

And just in case you are wondering – the U.S. has four time zones.

India also does not change its clocks for daylight savings time.

How do I know this? Well I went to a meeting today and Ranjini Manian the CEO and founder of Global Adjustments gave a presentation. She enlightened me on this fact and many others. I will share more tomorrow – but right now I must go pick up my kiddos from school. Yes, my driver could do that and I could stay here with you all day – but there are some things I am not giving in to India on, just yet. I like to pick up my own kids. Okay – technically the driver drives me and I pick them up – but you know what I meant. 😎

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Arun permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:39 pm

    Some people would argue that india should really have not one or two, but three time zones. India is about 1800 miles (3000 kilometers) across (compared to about 2600 miles of the contiguous 48 US states). So, four time zones for 2600 miles would translate to about three for 1800 miles.

    But, do you really want to add to the chaos by having different time zones? πŸ™‚ Ditto for daylight saving, besides the utility of daylight saving being questionable in the first place.

    By the way, the US has six time zones if you include Alaska and Hawaii.

  2. April 22, 2009 1:05 pm

    Earth hour = when everybody switches off their lights for an hour.
    http://www.earthhour.org/home/

  3. April 22, 2009 12:28 am

    Badass – if I am not mistaken – Nepal is 15 minutes ahead of India – interesting.

    Naomi – yeah, I am a parent like that! 😎

    Vik – thanks for the details – what is earth hour? The single time zone does make it less complicated!

    Grace – it goes to 10 1/2 hours ahead – which makes it a little easier to be in touch with the U.S. East Coast – I am confused too – you are not alone.

  4. April 21, 2009 3:06 pm

    So in daylight savings time are you still 9.5, or is it up to 10, or down to 8 or…I confused myself.

  5. April 21, 2009 6:57 am

    Rural India still follows the daylight-saving concept albiet without the re-clocking. Everybody wakes up at dawn, goes over to their fields and work through the day, and sleeps almost as quickly as the sun is set. The reason being, there never was adequate lighting during night (electricity is a privilege in India, we celebrate earth-hour twice a day).

    Then again, we are brought up around the concept of single time-zones. 9:00 in the morning means my bank would be open, be it in Calcutta or Mumbai. Similarly all competetive exams, all trains, all flights, all times of birth (for all the horoscopic reasons πŸ™‚ ) are at the same time. Keeps away the complexity entirely.

  6. naomihattaway permalink
    April 21, 2009 6:36 am

    Yes – we are finding that half hour addition a bit humorous. Just adds to the fun of a new experience! Thanks for sharing the “why”!!

    I like that you insist on picking up your own kids, sans the responsibility of actually doing the driving.

  7. April 21, 2009 5:55 am

    I always find how countries do their time zoning very interesting. I’ve never heard of there being 1/2 hour zones.

Leave a Reply

