Skip to content

Delhi Belly…………………

April 9, 2009

Last night I had a case of Delhi Belly. You can imagine what this means. My tummy hurt. A lot. Boo Hoo for me. I stretched the limits of potty talk with this post – so I won’t go into any further details about why having Delhi Belly is no fun. But it’s not really that fun.

There’s no telling where it came from. It could have been a virus or something I ate. I have a couple of stressful things I am dealing with right now and it could be as simple as that. It really doesn’t matter – it’s just a part of my life here. Sometimes my tummy hurts.

When I was younger and I had a belly ache, my mom would make me Campbells Tomato Soup (with milk of course). She would make it warm but not bubbly hot. She would serve it to me with Sprite (with a straw and no ice of course). And on the side would be Saltine crackers.

I would lift my head and moan and somehow I would manage to sit up. I would eat the soup and crackers and drink my Sprite all pitiful like and I would start to feel better.

Today I am going to eat Ritz crackers and Sprite. I might even heat up a can of soup. Somehow it’s just not the same. 😉

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2009 1:35 am

    Lola – all good vampires love tomato soup – I am not surprised one bit! 😉

    Tottsmom – that sounds like my hubby – he also craves donuts with his McDonalds – it’s pure madness!

    Deep – nope – not really that sick – just a little cruddy. I do feel better thanks.

    Badass – thanks

    Jurate – I will try that thanks

    Josie – why not cocktails – are they not medicinal?

    Nancy – I did find campbells here and even my beloved tomato – but like so many things its just not the same. 😎

    Baba – I do feel better thanks

    m2thes – rice would be good – when our new cooks starts I am hoping she can make rice – she sounds very promising!

    Kathleen – that brat diet rocks

    Ke – isn’t that ironic? sick in U.S. but not in Kenya – and I cannot stick my finger down my throat – I know it would help but I just cannot bring myself to do it.

    Can I Remain – that’s a great tradition – I love sharing my hints from heloise so please share on! I will look for the pudin hara. thanks!

  2. CanIRemainUnknownPl permalink
    April 10, 2009 3:13 pm

    Get well soon.
    There is an Indian tradition that every time we see someone sick we would recommend a remedy, trust me I have seen people tell tales how eating tomato with black pepper cured diabetes for something or how neem leaves will cure any skin issues I have even heard someone advice a cancer patient!!!
    So continuing the tradition take some ‘Pudin Hara’ its an over the counter cure for most stomach ailments, if you can live iwth the high alcohol content in it, its one of the most widely used cures in India and has no side effects!
    Take care!

  3. April 10, 2009 2:56 pm

    Whenever I get any form of food poisoning, I force myself to throw up so I can get it all out. That’s what you should do: put your index finger down your throat and let it all come out. Then go to the doctor.

    I’ve never had food poisoning in Kenya, but I’ve had it in America.

    Go figure.

  4. Kathleen permalink
    April 10, 2009 1:20 pm

    Aww feel better soon, and I also recommend if you aren’t feeling better in a few days to get meds, cipro always worked for me! My mom had me follow the BRAT diet (bannanas, rice, applesauce, toast) when my tummy was not good…

  5. m2thes permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:34 pm

    aww mannn

    the delhi belly is all baddyy

    you shouldnt of eaten that curry!!!

    in India instead of cambell tomatoe soup people eat …some type of rice mixture with lentils and some yogort…called “kicheri”

    it dont taste good at all but it fills your stomach and doesn’t get you more sick!

  6. April 10, 2009 11:13 am

    Hope you feel better soon.

  7. Nancy permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:23 am

    Sorry you’re feeling badly! Can you get your Campbells there?

  8. April 10, 2009 7:59 am

    Hope you are feeling better and it doesn’t pass around to the kids. Sorry for the stress you have been under. Drink drink drink and then drink some more, my friend – and not cocktails.

  9. April 10, 2009 7:10 am

    My turn to be mommy now 🙂 I’ve been having my share of Mumbai Belly (doesn’t sound as good though :)) for the past year. If it is very bad or doesn’t get better in a day or so, I recommend seeing a doctor as you might need to take a course of medicine if it is bacteria or virus. I myself would never see a doctor for upset stomach till I moved to India, but it is different now…

    Our doctor puts us on his diet for a day or two when it is really bad and it seems to really help. You can eat as much as you want of any of these: apples, bananas, oranges/sweet lime, pomegranate, plain milk biscuits, plain crackers, toast, natural yogurt, buttermilk, lime juice, sprite/limca/7up, coconut water. You can dip biscuits into tea or coffee, but not allowed to drink it on those days. Basically, nothing warm or hot. But in addition to this diet, we also start on his medicine.

    Hope you get better soon!

  10. April 10, 2009 6:44 am

    Yuck. I hate feeling sick like that, but it sounds like you know what to do to get feeling better quickly.

  11. April 10, 2009 5:56 am

    So did you go to the doc? Did you figure out what it was? Are you feeling any better now?

    Also, you may want to try this…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aqua_Ptychotis

    This is what I always have, makes you burp like crazy, but REALLY effective.

  12. Tottsmom permalink
    April 9, 2009 11:49 pm

    lol, nothin’ better than good ol’ campbell’s when you feel bad, except maybe a McDonalds Cheeseburger, fries and a chocolate shake. That is what my Nanny (read grandmother) used to bring me when i was sick. From Mom I got Chicken noodle and those of so famous saltines and 7up. Hope you feel better soon.

  13. April 9, 2009 11:20 pm

    Ugh!!!

    Campbell’s tomato soup is one of my all-time favorite comfort foods. My mother always made it for me with milk, served up with my beloved Saltines and Ginger Ale. I still love it. It’s my go-to if I have a hangover 😉

    Feel better.

Leave a Reply

