Skip to content

For the love of toilets…………..

April 7, 2009

In an effort to get out and see more of Delhi, I took the kids to the Toilet Museum. They thought I was kidding. It is actually (kind of) funny that in a land where bathrooms are hard to find that there is a museum dedicated to all things toilet.

And if you are in the U.S. and you are thinking, “dang, now I have to go to Delhi, I must see the toilet museum,”  – fear not. In Wisconsin there is also a toilet museum. In fact, I think it is the world’s largest toilet museum. You can thank Kohler for that. And if I understood things correctly, there is also a toilet paper museum. No need for a passport.

If you don’t believe me – click this link for the museum in Delhi – http://www.sulabhtoiletmuseum.org/pg01.htm. I knew it was going to be good when the first line of the link said you should seek help if you have ever wondered what a toilet museum would be like.

I have to say it was interesting. For example, did you know that John Harrington invented the modern toilet. I just happen to love this guy! Yes, I heart John Harrington and that big fluffy collar of his.

img_7883

And did you know that the reason Americans call the toilet the John is because John Douglass was famous for making pottery basins for the toilet and he would sign them John? An artist must sign his work. Sign he did. See, now you will sleep better tonight because you know that.

This made me laugh. It is a replica of an outhouse type toilet used at construction sites in the U.S. many, many years ago. I don’t know if you can read the signs but the door on the top says “Management” and the door on the bottom says “Employees”. It’s disgusting and hysterical at the same time. And no, there was not a hole in the ceiling of the employee section.

img_7882

In Thailand, they are teaching elephants to use the toilet so that the tourists are not constantly side-stepping big piles of poo (not the technical term, but you get the idea). I once considered trying to toilet train our cats.  However, I spent what felt like years getting Number One Hubby to put the seat down – cats would require the seat to be up. I quickly checked “potty training the cats” off my bucket list. But this takes over-achieving to a whole new level.

img_7889

This is a picture of the man who loves all things toilet. He was charming and very informative. And, yes, that is a picture of Jennifer Lopez. She is apparently even famous at the toilet museum because at one point Ben Affleck gave her a bejeweled toilet. Now, that is love.

img_7886

There was a very detailed explanation of how this traveling port-a-potty works. I have to be honest, there were a couple of times when we all zoned out. So, I did not catch the whole idea behind it – but I think you can figure it out.

img_7879

This man in Seoul built his house in the shape of a toilet. Did you know that there was a World Toilet Association? You do now.

img_7890

And the award for the most expensive toilet goes to………..drum roll please…………. NASA. Shocking.

img_7891

Remember I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet, so you must do with this info what you will….

img_7896

This toilet has an incinerator at the bottom and makes ashes out of waste.

img_7897

And then there were the mascots – seriously – there are mascots. Can you guess their names?

img_7898

I didn’t tell you everything – I didn’t want to spoil all the surprises, just in case you decide to visit. The tour takes about half an hour.

It turns out that the toilet museum is not just about toilets. It is located on a campus where they are studying waste management. The curator offered a tour of that part of the facility as well, but we opted out of that seeing that section.

The tour was free, although I did give a donation at the end of the tour.

It might sound crazy, but we enjoyed ourselves and we laughed the whole way home. Now I have a whole new threat to level against them – if you aren’t good, I will tell your friends you went to the toilet museum – and LIKED it. And it was a fabulous opportunity for my children to see that if you are enthusiastic about your “work”, you will love your job and you will bring joy to other people. Who would have thought that we would make such great family memories at the toilet museum?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 11:23 pm

    I did not know any of that! Very interesting information.

  2. April 8, 2009 7:28 pm

    I’m sitting here right now trying to do that palm thing…maybe i should wait until i have to go to the bathroom eh. (-:

    Thanks for sharing! Sounds incredible…
    I’ll get back to you on my break

  3. Tottsmom permalink
    April 8, 2009 6:14 pm

    My Dad would LOVE this place. He has a great time at stuff like this. Read every single thing. Takes forever. BTW Taxes are done! YEA!!!! Going to a wine tasting thing tonight with my Mom.

  4. April 8, 2009 10:12 am

    Enchanted – probably not 😉

    Badass – why do you think we were laughing all the way home – it didn’t help at at all that my youngest loves POOh bear.

    Naomi and Monika – I don’t mean to overstate its grandness – it might be a bit of a let down if you set your expectations too high – it is a small – but really, I truly enjoyed it! And Naomi – I think you have to be very careful which way you rotate. Add pressure, relieve pressure – yikes!

    Pam – it will be great to see you both!

  5. pam permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:43 am

    this is great. i shared this one w k. she said she can’t wait to see A and talk to her about it!!

    miss u!

  6. April 8, 2009 9:18 am

    lol i have lived most of my life in delhi and i didnt know this exists… may be i should take my son there when i visit next time

  7. April 8, 2009 7:32 am

    THIS is now at the top of our list for some of the first stops we’re going to visit when we arrive!

    Am especially hoping for more detail on the pressure points on the hand, should a bathroom not be nearby.

    Thanks for sharing!

  8. April 8, 2009 6:42 am

    I don’t think they could have made their mascots any more hilarious.

  9. April 8, 2009 1:33 am

    Wow I didnt know there was something like this in delhi. Funny.. BTW while we are on the subject of toilets, have you heard about the toilet style eatery restaurant chain in Taiwan? Got it as a forward in email. Search for “The Modern Toilet eatery” and it will show multiple pictures of this restaurant. Check it out. Now would you ever eat there 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. For the Love of Faucets………….. « A Reason To Write - India
  2. Delhi Belly………………… « A Reason To Write - India

Leave a Reply

