Skip to content

Double Oh Seven…..

March 25, 2009

There are a lot of things that are different here in India. Most of them are pretty easy to adapt to. Some of them are causing me to stumble – not trip and fall – just stumble a tad.

Telephone numbers here are written differently. Not a big deal. But the way you say them makes me pause everytime. Talk about slowing down my ears.

9714440877

How would you say that number?

If you are American, you would probably say

Nine – Seven – Four – Four – Four – Zero – Eight – Seven – Seven

If you are in India, you would say

Nine – Seven – One – Triple Four – Zero – Eight – Double Seven

If you have been here a while and stayed with your Hindi lessons, you would say

Nau – Sat – Triple Car – Sunya – Ath – Double Sat

Be careful before you going around impressing all the ladies with your Hindi skills – the words aren’t pronounced like they are spelled – another stumbling block – for example, ath is “ought” – at least I think it is. AUGH.

Now, I know why James Bond is Double Oh Seven – it sounds a little better than Zero-Zero-Seven.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jasmeet permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:00 am

    You have a southern drawl??? Dayum! Whats ‘er phone number??? lolz

  2. April 4, 2009 6:18 am

    lol i loved reading this… πŸ™‚ u have caught quite a bit of hindi πŸ˜‰

  3. March 27, 2009 2:27 pm

    I like the “triple” and “double” way. Of course, I’m the person who gives out her phone number using the word “zero” once and the letter “O”. Can’t break the stupid habit no matter how hard I try ;(

  4. March 26, 2009 10:03 pm

    LOL!

  5. March 26, 2009 9:22 pm

    Kathleen – that must have been fun – ha haa

    Badass – I am with you – but funny enough, that causes confusion here. 😎

    Sands – you can’t win for counting! πŸ˜‰

  6. March 26, 2009 9:18 am

    yeah and in US, if I say double something, people just stare at me or say what was that? πŸ™‚ and when I go back home, my siblings would say couldn’t you have just said double or triple instead saying that 3 times!!

  7. March 26, 2009 8:31 am

    I’m always one to just speak each number individually. Removes confusion, at least to me.

  8. Kathleen permalink
    March 26, 2009 7:39 am

    ah yes I remember this too! since i was working in banking operations while there we had to do alot with account numbers. I actually got into a very interesting discussion about the double one, triple one vs one one, or one one one. See my theory is that you should say whichever version has the least amount of syllables. So in the case of 011 it would be most efficient to say zero one one rather than zero double one, but for 0777 it is most efficient to say zero triple seven.

    just my crazy thought on this matter!

  9. March 26, 2009 4:34 am

    @ areason2write – yeah, the legendary Southern drawl…I LOVE it!!! Doesn’t Tommy Lee Jones have a Southern accent? Or is that only in the movies?

  10. March 26, 2009 4:13 am

    Deep – it probably is 😎 remember I have a funny accent and nobody can really understand what I am trying to say!

  11. March 26, 2009 1:53 am

    Isn’t it more like triple “char” instead of “car”?

    Yeah, our phone numbers are very different. Landlines are 8 digit, mostly, and the first 4 digits are like your area code, or exchange number, so, it’s split in two groups of four digits. Mobile numbers are 10 digit, and people mostly split them into 2 groups of 5 digits.

    But then, you guys say really cool stuff like one eight hundred, instead of one eight zero zero…so…we’re picking up some of that nowadays as well…he he he

Leave a Reply

