Skip to content

She’s crafty……….

March 24, 2009

Those of you who know me, know that I know my way around a craft table. Pass me that glue gun. STAT.

So when I heard my daughter’s class was going to the craft museum, I just might have pushed a mom out of the way to get in line. Okay, not really, but I might have if I needed to.

So I went with 100 4th graders to the craft museum. They were well-behaved and, for the most part, interested in seeing the displays. Flower walked with me (almost) the whole time. It was a lovely afternoon.

img_6342

We did not walk around with a guide, so I do not know what all the pictures represent or what era they are from. You might not learn much here, but they are fun to look through.

img_6346

These are dolls – yes, I am sure you could tell that yourself. But just in case.

img_6351

No, this is not a picture of my children – it was an exhibit. If you cannot behave yourself, I am not going to show you anymore pictures. πŸ˜‰

img_6359

This is my new throne. My traveling throne.

img_6366

This is my traveling throne when I am not feeling quite as royal.

img_6352

This is what number one hubby and I look like doing yoga. And yes, we have come so far that we can balance ourselves on the ledge of a window. Actually I think these are musicians, but that wasn’t as funny.

img_6370

This cloth is embroidered – it was stunning.

img_6363

I really have no idea. But isn’t it cool?

img_63411

This was one of the outside walls. It has dimension which I didn’t quite capture, but just imagine the white parts being raised up a bit.

img_63491

I was eavesdropping – I mean the people next to me were talking really loudly – so I found out that this is a wedding mural. I believe the groom is the blue guy with two heads. No, I do not have a comment on that.

img_6373

I know it’s bad to steal and, let me be clear, I do not steal – but if I was gonna – whoa!

img_6375

This dog is not an exhibit – but you can hardly go anywhere in Delhi without seeing stray dogs. They are part of the experience.

img_6376

This little boy’s mom was a craft vendor. She was exhibiting her talents and selling her craft items. She was a weaver and he simply spun himself around my heart. He is just beautiful and I absolutely fell in love with him.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 9:58 am

    heather – welcome and they were so fun to see!

  2. March 27, 2009 12:54 am

    Wow! Those are some pretty syphisticated crafts! Beautiful!

  3. March 25, 2009 11:14 pm

    Lola – isn’t he gorgeous? I will fight you for the chariot!

  4. March 25, 2009 6:27 pm

    Oh, my, I think I might have walked off with that little boy. What a face!!!
    That first chariot reminds me of my gangsta Jeep, black, big wheels. That’s so my chariot…

  5. March 25, 2009 3:42 am

    deewane – that is a much better story for the mural – you are surely right! Thanks!

  6. deewane permalink
    March 25, 2009 1:13 am

    O.K. so totally agree with caniremainnamelesspls!! It seems like I spent 20 culture-less years in Delhi (though I do know CP, GK and Dilli haat like the back of my own hand:P) The good news, I guess, is that on my (much anticipated and perpetually post-poned) trip home I’ll know exactly what places I hv to see πŸ™‚ so thank you!

    P.S. I may be totally wrong but I do believe that in that wedding mural, the bride and the groom are the people sitting cross-legged beneath that fish thing, and the guy on the bull/cow is lord Shiva and the second head he seems to be sprouting is river ganges which, mythologically speaking, flows through his dreadlocks.

  7. March 24, 2009 9:48 pm

    Badass – I will try to find you some of those pants

    Deep – well my readers are going to donate to my parking fund, right? hee hee

    Kathleen – that would be great!

    CanIRemain- if I remember right it’s not too far from the Red Fort. I will check those others out too – thanks for sharing!

  8. CanIRemainUnknownPl permalink
    March 24, 2009 6:30 pm

    Where is this place? How come I grew up in this city and I have to learn about it from a ‘firangi’ πŸ™‚

    Another place that might be of your taste is Shakara’s Dolls museum, its close to Pragati Maidan/Zoo. Also in the same area is the Science Centre that I LOVED when I was a child, very much fun and educating.

  9. Kathleen permalink
    March 24, 2009 10:24 am

    Hi! I too have been to this museum and have some of the same pictures. We had a guide (it was a tour provided by our hotel) and I don’t remember much but I think that the picture you took (with the caption “no these are not my children) I think I remember our guide saying that they are Hindu gods, but I don’t remember who. Was that wedding mural the one in a separate room where the entire walls are all painted and you stand in the doorway to look in? Our guide told us a whole story about that room too but I was feeling way to hot and getting sick so I don’t remember much about that either. I will have to send you a snapfish link to all my pictures!

  10. March 24, 2009 7:06 am

    @ areason2write – I don’t want to take away the mystery and all that, but I think the third pic from the top is of Lord Jagannath (from where you get the word juggernaut), Balaram and Subhadra. The one below it is probably Jagannath’s chariot, which is pulled around by devotees for Rath Yatra.

    Of course, it could totally be your travelling throne, your royal highness, but I am wondering how much flows out of thy royal coffers to pay for parking!

    @ Badass – patchwork pants…YEAH BABY!!!

  11. March 24, 2009 6:39 am

    That little guy’s wearing some pretty awesome pants.

Leave a Reply

