Skip to content

Everywhere you look, there is a story…………….

March 17, 2009

In the U.S. things are cleaner and more organized and, in many ways, less interesting. One thing I will say about India is that it is NEVER, EVER boring. India is rich with history and stories. These pictures were taken in Lodhi Gardens in Delhi. Right there among the jogging paths and homeless dogs and gorgeous flowers are these historic buildings.

img_5645

img_5646

Sometimes things in India are a tad more complicated than they need be – this sign basically says – don’t mess with the monument.

img_5659

And you can clearly see why India does not want its monuments messed with. They are stunning.

img_5662

Now you know what this tomb is.

img_5663

img_5672

This seems to be part of a very cool fort – complete with towers and nooks and crannies.

img_5697

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 9:54 pm

    Rhonda – and I love having you with me!

  2. Rhonda P permalink
    March 19, 2009 4:33 pm

    I am so loving this India adventure you are taking me on!!!! Thanks!

  3. Paul permalink
    March 18, 2009 3:22 pm

    SN is my fav as well apart from Khan Market and the little market at Jor Bagh, which is almost like a place from good dream. SN is where my father was born and brought up. It used to be a sleepy market where people would come to shop for their daily needs, unlike what it has become today – a full fledged market.
    I knew you couldn’t be next door to the Embassy, unless you or your husband is an Ambassador or a High Commissioner of some country lol.
    Very few private houses in Chanakya Puri which only a Bill Gates or a Lakshmi Mittal could afford. I guess the only place where one could find a house would be those areas along West End like Anand Niketan, Shanti Niketan etc etc. My guess is that you live somewhere there. All other areas around Chanakya Puri are for government accommodations, Sarojini Nagar included. πŸ™‚
    Try Nehru Park, its opposite the Australian High Commission, its quite good as well.

  4. March 18, 2009 11:09 am

    poupee – I have not heard from you in a while – welcome back – I will check those out – thanks for sharing

    Paul – it is indeed an Oasis. We aren’t next door to the Am. Emb. – just not too far – and I went back to Sarojini today – I love that market

  5. Paul permalink
    March 18, 2009 8:40 am

    Time Magazine once named Lodhi Garden as the best urban Oasis in the whole of Asia comparable to the Central Park in NYC.

  6. Paul permalink
    March 18, 2009 8:38 am

    Ha! The only area not “too far” from the American Embassy is Sarojini Nagar, for all other you have to cross at least one traffic light. lol

  7. poupee97 permalink
    March 18, 2009 5:48 am

    Hey, there are lots of lovely monuments, you could spend months if you’re interested. One of my favourites was Tughlaqabad and the mosque of Ghiyas-ud-din Tughlaq. There there’s Feroze Shah Kotla, Purana Qila, Hauz Khas…

  8. March 17, 2009 9:29 pm

    Paul – not too far from the American Embassy

    Pam – thank you for coming along

    Badass – I wish I had your mad camera skills – I could show the sights off a little better

    Deep – traffic is one of the least boring things around here! 😎

    Jurate – if you come please let me know – we can have lunch! I would love it!
    There are some parks and some neighborhoods have small play areas – but many of the neighborhoods are house on top of house – it is not all wide open. The roof top terraces are amazing though!

    Miss Grace – I can promise that driving down the road in the U.S. will be very boring compared to here! It is all so random – there is something unexpected at every single turn – I think the U.S. is more organized. You see things where you expect to see them for the most part.

  9. March 17, 2009 1:27 pm

    I don’t think I’d call the US boring. I think you’re just not accustomed to the stories you find in new places. We’re used to the stories here.

  10. Paul permalink
    March 17, 2009 1:08 pm

    Namaste Jurate ji,
    Im a native of Delhi but frequent Bombay. To me Bombay is a mela, at every nook and corner there’s something going on. Perhaps some open spaces in South Bombay (SoBo) and towards Chembur but nothing in the Suburbs. Delhi certainly has more open spaces many of which are from the Mughal era including the above – Lodhi Garden. Which part of Bombay do you live in?

  11. March 17, 2009 9:08 am

    I want to visit Delhi!

    There seems to be so much open space there! Is this true for the rest of Delhi? I really miss open space in Mumbai… really so very much… cannot wait for my next trip to Lithuanian πŸ™‚

  12. March 17, 2009 8:30 am

    never ever boring? really? not even in traffic jams?

    Awesome awesome awesome pics! Reading your blog is becoming like a 10 minute vacation everyday. Like that cab-driver (Jamie Fox?) from Collateral…thank you!!!

  13. March 17, 2009 8:20 am

    Stunning.

  14. pam permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:56 am

    thank you for taking us w u.

  15. Paul permalink
    March 17, 2009 3:59 am

    Ah! Thought you guys lived in Bangalore. Which area of Delhi do you guys live?

Leave a Reply

