Skip to content

How did he do it?

March 6, 2009

Lots of people have commented that number one hubby has lost weight and they all want to know how he did it. I’ll say that he was certainly not jabba the b-u-t-t to begin with, but he has gone down at least two pants sizes since living in India.

He did not go on a diet and he did not start working out like a madman – but some things are different.

First, he is no longer working in our kitchen. That goes a long way in reducing the amount of food readily available.

He also switched from regular soda to diet soda. Real men do drink diet soda and they lose weight – especially if they drink a lot of soda.

Then there is the fact that Indian cooking is mostly from scratch. And not the kind of scratch where you open a can of something and doctor it up a little. I mean really from scratch. Fresh everything – that means there is not a lot of salt in the food or preservatives.

Plus it’s hotter here. I think we sweat more. I don’t know if that helps but it doesn’t hurt.

And, even though McDonalds delivers here, there are no cheeseburgers or Big Macs. The fries are delish – but when you aren’t wolfing them down with a cheeseburger  you don’t get as many calories.

Although, a lot of Indian people run 7-11’s in the U.S., there aren’t any here. So, sadly, no slurpees.

So it’s not magic – it’s fresh foods, less junk. You can see I am well on my way to being a scientist. 😎

Note: And for those of you who know him, you will get a kick out of this – yesterday he started a yoga class. Anyone want to start a pool on how long that will last? hee hee

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 2:47 am

    Ke – I think Indians stay slimmer because many of them are working their butts off and the lack of fast food helps – plus they just don’t seem to eat all the preservatives we do. Many Indians do eat meat – I was surprised by that – let’s see if I get this right – Muslims do not eat pork – Hindus no cow. There are certainly a lot of vegetarians but you can usually find non-veg options without too much trouble. The poor chickens. 😎

  2. March 8, 2009 11:45 pm

    Deepa:
    Americans work so much and they don’t have maids so by the time they get home, they just want to make something quick to eat.

    It’s interesting your take on eating fresh, whole food because the French claim that’s how they manage to stay slim even though they eat so much butter and cream. I personally don’t buy anything from a can, but I didn’t grow up in America and I am used to cooking from scratch. If I want to cheat, I’ll buy frozen vegetables, which have no preservatives and which remain pretty fresh.

    Indian food can be pretty fattening, especially in America. They use lots of cream and butter and you’ve gotta be careful. I also remember that in Kenya, all the Indians cooked with ghee, which is clarified butter and which is very fattening. Do they still use ghee in restaurants in India?

    There is a local indian restaurant in my neighborhood where I go when I don’t feel like cooking and usually, when I see another black person there, 99% of the time, they are either from Africa or the Carribbean: we don’t like American fast food, so for us, Indian restaurants fill the void. You can get a good helping of basmati rice and a chicken curry, all for $10 dollars and it’s a much healthier alternative (especially if you avoid the creamed curries).

    **would you say that Indians are able to remain slimmer because of the vegetarianism? Meat, for all it’s deliciousness, is loaded with fat.

  3. March 7, 2009 9:54 pm

    Lola – don’t tease me – come on over!

    Deep – it’s not hard at all to find fresh produce – however – we all go for easy – cooking out of can is much easier because most of it is already done. But obviously it’s not as healthy.

  4. March 7, 2009 8:50 am

    The fresh food part is really interesting. My sister used to be a big fan of Nigella Lawson, so I ended up watching a few of her shows. Everyting, and I do mean absolutely everything she cooked came out of a can. How difficult is it to find fresh produce in the States or UK?

  5. March 6, 2009 10:31 pm

    So, if I come for a visit, say, next week, I’ll fit back into my size 6’s in no time? If so, alert the staff. I can be there in, what, 20 hours?

  6. March 6, 2009 10:59 am

    Tottsmom – it really is just a different lifestyle here – he liked his first yoga class and I am going to join him next week.

  7. Tottsmom permalink
    March 6, 2009 10:39 am

    I think I need to sign up for his diet. I hate, HATE, exercise and I have no, nada, zero will power when it comes to food. Having someone else cook, might help, but I think I’d still be in the kitchen looking for something to snack. Yoga? I’ll think about that one.

  8. March 6, 2009 10:34 am

    Badass – oh no, my dear – the instructor comes here.

    Jurate – notice I did not mention how I am doing! 😎

  9. March 6, 2009 8:54 am

    Wow, good for him!

    I, on the other hand, have gained a few kg since moving to India 😦 Main reasons being: long hours in the office plus less walking (too crowded and hot), very late dinners (Mumbai style), creamy and yummy curries (can I blame Kerala for that? :)), irregular exercising, falling ill too often, and I suspect those chapaties, naans, etc. also end up on my hips 🙂

  10. March 6, 2009 6:50 am

    Yoga? I wouldn’t last longer than the car ride to the gym.

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga Anyone? « A Reason To Write - India

Leave a Reply

