Skip to content

Jaipur – The Amber Fort…………..

February 16, 2009

Day Two of our adventure to Jaipur – the Pink City. If you have not read about day one – you can do that here.

Enter Day Two.

img_6569

This is called the Water Palace. Can you guess why? Yes, four of its stories are under water. We were told the only way to visit it was to swim across the (very dirty) water. We chose to take pictures from the road. I may be willing to move to India – but I do have my limits.

img_65631

This must a guard tower – or something. It looked pretty cool whatever it is.

img_6566

If you look closely at this picture, on the hill, you will see the wall of the really big fence that surrounds the Amber (or Amer) Fort. I guess if Legos and Lincoln Logs have not been invented yet, your imagination can run wild. It is hard to explain just how steep that hill is or how amazing this wall is. Maybe you should come visit and we’ll take you to it.

img_6606

And finally the elephant ride. Angel has been asking since before we left the U.S. if she could ride an elephant. Ride she did. It made her nervous and she doesn’t need to do it again anytime soon. But I feel good knowing I helped her check something off of her bucket list. Tomorrow I am going to post my Girlfriend’s Guide to Jaipur – if you plan to ride the elephants at Amber Fort, you’ll want to read it for sure.

The cost per elephant is 570 rupees (about $11).

img_6611

This man will try to sell you a blanket with elephants on it on your ride up to the fort. Hey mister, I am not going to actually buy it – but could you look over here and maybe smile -could you hold it a little more to the left – that’s it – I have a blog  – you and your pretty blanket are going to be on it. Lucky you.

The cost to get in the Fort is 150 rupees for anyone over 7 years old. Well that is any foreign visitor over 7 years old. Non-foreign visitors are 25 rupees or 10 rupees. We did not try to pretend to be non-foreign. It was as plain as the noses on our faces that were are not Indian.

img_6632

This was in the main courtyard. If I understood our guide correctly they were either filming a movie here or they do occasionally film movies here. Either way – at some point in time movies might be filmed here. And nope, they did not ask me to appear in a cameo. Dang.

img_6636

This was the entrance to the residence area. One poor king who once lived here only had two wives. Another had twelve. I will ask you to remember that I am biting my tongue on this issue. I did not make up the rules and I am (very) glad I did not have to live by them.

img_6645

Ganesha is everywhere.

img_6651

This is the palace of mirrors. The king with only two wives lived here with a wife on either side. Note to the readers of the male persuasion – if you limit your time to just one woman – you will have more to spend on her palace. The living accommodations for the king with twelve wives – not quite the same.

img_6659

I took this picture.

img_6660

My husband thought maybe he should take one too. Oh yes, I do see how much better it is. Must I point out that the picture above (the one I took) captured the full border of the panel? I think not. Whatever.

img_6678

Then we went to see a concert called Mehfil within the fort. I loved it – Bear, Angel, Flower – not so much. But sometimes it’s fun to torture your children with culture. I highly recommend it. Number One Hubby did not fall asleep – you can take that as a good sign. It was 100 rupees per person ($2). No discount for kids. And it only lasted 20 minutes.

img_6689

And they had dancers at the concert too. Flower liked the one in the yellow dress the best.

img_67043img_67382

And the doors, oh the doors – they are amazing and fabulous.

We learned that Tulsi (a form of basil) is special in India.

img_6741

img_6727

This is a bathtub. Okay – I have bitten a hole in my tongue. But enough already. If you are going to have 12 wives, give them a place to bathe with perhaps a curtain – a faucet. Something. If I stood in this hole it would be about as deep as my shoulders are tall. Still – privacy please. And pssst – come here – shhhh – this is not the guide I would recommend. Don’t tell. And – yes, totally unrelated – but seriously – how do you like my shirt? I will tell you more about where I got it in a post coming to a blog near you very soon.

img_6743

We were not so easily wooed by the snake charmers at the fort. Not because they weren’t perfectly charming – but simply because one snake charming per lifetime is enough thank you. No need to tempt fate. And I am not clear if these snakes have ever been invited to a puja. So, step away from the snake. Yes, that big snake called a cobra who is showing off his hood.

img_6752

Our guide pointed out this temple to us at the base of the fort. He said there are hundreds of temples in Jaipur and somehow he managed to not take us to any of them. Hmmmmm. Lesson learned – insist on seeing a temple. The one we wanted to see but were talked out of seeing was the Monkey Temple. We are not happy about that. At all.

But Jaipur is lovely and there is a lot to see. Thanks for coming on our journey with us!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Ganesh Sudath DevaNarayana permalink
    February 27, 2009 6:04 am

    unique and amazing india

  2. February 17, 2009 10:48 pm

    Deep – not ticked off at all – just explaining why I called it that – your explanations are interesting but please remember that this is my American perspective on my experience here – I am not going to get it all right – in fact, please don’t be surprised if I don’t get much right 😎

  3. February 17, 2009 10:15 am

    @areason2write – err…didn’t mean to…uhh…tick you off or anything…just saying…but anyways, great post…and fantastic pics! Real fun to read!

  4. February 17, 2009 8:29 am

    Deep – Mehfil was what was on the ticket and what our guide called it.

    Badass – – it is one adventure after another

  5. February 17, 2009 6:56 am

    What an experience. I’m a little jealous!

  6. February 17, 2009 1:52 am

    WO! Always wanted to go to Rajasthan myself, this is turning out to be a fantastic series of posts. Thank you so much and please keep writing.

    By the way, I don’t think a concert is called Mehfil. Mehfil means something like a gathering, or a venue where you have music. So it’s not really a name. It’s more like the word concert itself.

  7. February 16, 2009 9:48 pm

    Tottsmom – thank you

    Nugo – I am glad you are all along for the ride – I am honestly amazed that so many people read my blog – but it makes it so much more fun to write!

    Lola – it is amazing here! It really is. Even I can take a good picture.

  8. February 16, 2009 2:14 pm

    Such gorgeous photos!

  9. February 16, 2009 1:11 pm

    thanks for letting us live vicariously through you. world travel is a must in my lifetime. i’m from barbados, live in raleigh NC, my brother lives in brazil, i’ve seen a few places, but to live in india…wow. i’m very jealous-except for maybe the whole toilet issue. that’s a luxury i’m going to have trouble letting go of. keep writing & i’ll keep reading.

  10. Tottsmom permalink
    February 16, 2009 12:09 pm

    What amazing artwork. I love the way you explain things.

Trackbacks

  1. But how are you……….. « A Reason To Write - India
  2. Mela Mela Mela…………… « A Reason To Write - India
  3. Girlfriend’s Guide to Jaipur…………… « A Reason To Write - India

Leave a Reply

