Skip to content

I am giving it an A plus…………..

February 3, 2009

Day one at school went well. Very well. In fact, I am giving it an A plus.

I sent my family a picture of the kids on their first day. What I forgot to mention was that – Angel is not actually crying because she did not want to go to school – she was crying because her brother (accidentally, I am told) hit her with the sleeve of his sweatshirt when he was putting it on. And, I just happen to be all about the picture – so red eyes or not – smile – I want a picture of the first day of school. I can either take it now – or at the school.  Bear said to Angel – just smile now please. That’s our new middle schooler.

Here is how it went.

Angel’s teacher is a mix of Mrs. Dowell and Mrs. Smiley. If you go to our school in the U.S. then you know that it simply does not get any better than that. Flower and I immediately thought of Mrs. Smiley – Angel thought of Mrs. Dowell – and she said that is because her new teacher smiles a lot – and, mom, Mrs. Dowell smiles a lot. There you go. Her new assistant teacher reminds her of Mrs. Peng – because they both have black hair.

Flower has a male teacher who is enthusiastic and kind. He assured me that he taught her all she will ever need to know about spelling on the first day. Okay then. If you read this post, then you will know just how funny it is that his name has the word “egg” in it. She made at least 7 new friends. She was smiling when I picked her up. When I walked her to class this morning, two girls yelled “hello Flower” from across campus.

The elementary school is in the throes of India Week. Tres cool. There are all sorts of demonstrations and crafts the kids can do. There isn’t as much school work as normal and there is a whole lot of entertainment. On Friday, the girls get to wear Indian clothes to school. We are going shopping for saris on Wednesday – and yes, have no fear, there will be pictures. It’s funny how life pushes you forward. Angel desperately wanted a sari but I was in no hurry to get one – we’ve got plenty of time. Maybe not.

Bear went in a little hesitantly but curious. There was a sign welcoming him to the school in the middle of the hallway. Welcome Bear to 6th grade. That was cool. The counselor pegged him dead on with his schedule. He is taking three classes that he would have never been able to take in 6th grade before – Odyssey of the Mind, Lego Robotics, and Sculpture. The counselor’s son is also a 6th grader – he and another boy met Bear and walked him to his first class. I asked him if they were nice. His reply – they are my friends now. Okay – life is indeed good.

Bear also asked to buy lunch today. This is my little bear who has eaten the same exact lunch everyday of his school life for the past 6 and a half years. He is growing already. And, today is pizza day.

So Bear, Flower, and Angel were all excited to go back today. That is a very good thing. Bear wanted to get to his locker. Flower walked right beside me. Angel – 20 steps ahead – yes, she is the youngest and yes, she can get there by herself – thank you very  much. Just ask her – but stand 20 steps behind when you do.

As for me, I went to a meeting and, as you know, to the market. Hubby went to work. It was my first day “on my own” too. And I did okay. I don’t like the fact that everyone else who I care about is asleep when I am awake. It makes it hard to talk to them. But we’ll figure out a routine on that soon enough.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2009 1:21 am

    Totts – Oh I am hoping you do get to come!

  2. Tottsmom permalink
    February 3, 2009 10:47 pm

    Wow, sounds like a great day all around. I wish we had classes like that for my 6th grader. She loves things that are “out of the box”. I must admit, like others, I am hooked on your blog. :-), even if we don’t get to go, I’ll continue to check in to read about your adventures.

  3. February 3, 2009 7:53 pm

    Badass – I think it does not get any better than that.

    Lola – it is really amazing

    Deewane – I will check out your blog – an over-active imagination is a very good thing!

    Oma – you are a real painter – and a mighty fine finger painter too

  4. Oma permalink
    February 3, 2009 2:14 pm

    Things are just getting better and better…I wish I could of gone to a school like that…..I could of been a “Real Painter” rather than a “Finger Painter” haha

    CAW

  5. deewane permalink
    February 3, 2009 2:07 pm

    Awwww that sounds like a great first day! I m in grad school but the first day I landed in the U.S. the picture in my head was me being dragged kicking and screaming to the dorms 😛 (At least the over-active imagination saves from the embarrassment of actually acting things out!)

    BTW thank you, added you to my blogroll (http://deewane.wordpress.com/)

  6. February 3, 2009 1:50 pm

    That school does not sound like any American school I’ve ever had the pleasure of dealing with. It sounds incredible!

    I’m so glad they like it this quickly and have found some friends. Yay!

  7. February 3, 2009 10:43 am

    Seriously, is there any better class for a middle-school-aged boy than Lego Robotics? Perfect.

Leave a Reply

