Skip to content

Phoning in a Friend……………..

January 23, 2009

This week has been an interesting mix of excitement and sadness. I know there is a big adventure ahead of us – but I also know we are leaving a great deal behind. I moved quite a bit as a kid. As such, I didn’t really feel like I had much in the way of roots until I had lived here for quite some time.  It took me a very long while to put both feet down. I completely understand that moving was good and those experiences have helped me become who I am.

But…….

I am going to just miss being here. Getting older has turned me into a terrible creature of habit. I love my routines and what I know. Running into people I care about almost everywhere I go is a gift. I love being around the people here – even if they are driving me crazy – or I am doing the same for them. I have tremendous friends and a lot of family close by. I did not grow up with that. And I am going to miss it.

Blah blah blah

So, enough sap – thank you to everyone who has touched my life. You are extremely special to me and I cannot wait to get back to see you soon.

And, to the MANY of you who have cooked, cleaned, packed, listened, shopped, held my hand, gotten stamps, prayed, let Queso live with you, or offered to do any of the above for me – thank you. I hope that you will give me the chance to return the favor for you very soon.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2009 8:36 pm

    Thinking of you. I can only imagine the mixed emotions you are having. Think of the learning experience for your brood of chickies and you know that there is a return to your home in the future. Sending you a hug!

  2. liz permalink
    January 24, 2009 8:29 pm

    We’re on the journey with you! Hope those cats make it…

  3. January 24, 2009 8:03 pm

    Lola – we are excited – it’s just getting out the door 😎

    Wreath – thanks

    Badass – I agree.

  4. January 24, 2009 6:44 am

    I’m with Lola – you’ll develop and settle into a routine in India just as you did here in the states. It will all work out for the best!

  5. January 24, 2009 4:34 am

    I Love your blog!!! I am writing this comment to let you know that in going through the blogs tonight, that yours was amazing and caught my eye!! I am new to wordpress and am trying to show everyone my website http://www.wreathconnection.com and of course to make new friends. Please check out my blog as well at http://wreathconnection.wordpress.com and let me know what you think!! I Hope to see you there!!

  6. January 23, 2009 11:58 pm

    I’d have such a hard time leaving my “life.” I’m so rooted here that it’s scary to go up to New Hampshire (a couple hours away) for a week. I am the ultimate home-body, live right next door to the house I grew up in that houses my mother, brother and his family, and I’m watching all the neighbors die of old age. I love my life here.

    That’s why I respect you so much for taking the most incredible leap of faith with THREE kids and a couple of cats in tow. Once you get settled, you’ll enjoy. I can’t wait to read about your new life. Just think, after that plane ride, it will all be a snap!

Leave a Reply

