Skip to content

There’s no way…….

January 20, 2009

(Note: If you have been reading this blog or if you know me, you know that we are very close to our departure to India. So, this will quite possibly be my last post for about a week. I’ll miss you terribly – but I will be back soon.)

When number one hubby and I were making wedding plans, there were a few things I refused to budge on. The song we would dance to at our reception was near the top of the list. We really didn’t have a song connected to a special moment – but I had a song connected to everything about us.

I had heard the song in high school. I immediately knew that if I ever found someone that I felt that way about – bring on the wedding.

My last year in college, I signed up for a Film class – it intrigued me – and, as an English major in my senior year, I was looking forward to a class minus the 300+ page books. No reading – just watching films – sign me up! Written on the board was the theme for the class “Violence in Films”. Pardon me. What did you say? Yeah, that’s not going to be so great for me. Super. I immediately made a  mental note to drop the class. And to write a note to somebody – they really should list that information somewhere other than the syllabus. But I wasn’t going to write it to the teacher – she was a little scary. Fatigues. Crew cut. Muscle t-shirt. Yikes. So I stayed for the first class. Sat right down to listen.

Then I saw him sitting there. Blue sweats that did not match his blue sweatshirt that did not match his blue baseball hat so coyly cocked to the side. He was sunken in his chair. Feet in the aisle. Probably (more than) a little cocky. And, of course, sitting in the back row. I am more of a front row kind of girl. Hmmmmm.

I listened as the teacher called out the names on the roster. Will I be able to tell who he is? Yep, he raised his hand when his name was called. And it is one of those names that could have twenty-five variations of its original version. Dang. No help there. Later, I found out that he goes by his middle name. Well, that makes perfect sense. And he was an Accounting major taking an upper level English class. This could get interesting.

So, anyfilm, long story short, when people ask me why I am willing to move to India, I only have this to offer. He matched my song.

Pour yourself some sweet tea, kick up your boots,
and take a listen – There’s No Way…….

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2009 10:00 am

    poupee – thank you

  2. poupee97 permalink
    January 22, 2009 12:13 am

    Looking forward to reading all about your Indian experience. Have a safe journey, you, your kids, and your cats.

  3. January 21, 2009 9:39 pm

    Loco – he sealed his fate by moving to India – if I will follow him there……..

    Rhonda – Hugs

    Pat – I will miss you too! Just always have an extra glass of wine for me!

  4. January 21, 2009 5:10 pm

    We are going to miss you and will look forward to seeing you in the summer. The court won’t be the same.

  5. Rhonda P permalink
    January 21, 2009 10:52 am

    What a GREAT story Ellen!!!!!!

  6. January 21, 2009 9:32 am

    There’s no way you guys’ll ever part (-:
    Nice song…
    Bon voyage…you’ll be missed!

    Loco

  7. MCK permalink
    January 20, 2009 4:35 pm

    Great Song! Can’t believe I didn’t know that one….be safe, god speed, and wonderful adventures!!! We will miss you, but mark me down as an addicted fan of the blog 🙂 I will be watching and waiting for the next new post!!!!

  8. January 20, 2009 3:40 pm

    Lola – I cannot wait to start my India stories. This could get interesting.

    Miss Grace – thank you.

  9. January 20, 2009 2:17 pm

    Very sweet.

    Have a safe journey!

  10. January 20, 2009 2:08 pm

    Awww! Well, you’ll be together very soon. I’m excited for all of you.

    I’ll miss you for a week, but you’ll have some great stories to tell!

Leave a Reply

