Skip to content

Expiration Dates and Calendars……..

January 12, 2009

We are now at the point in our adventure that some dairy products will be around longer in the United States than my family will be.

The other day, I went to the store to buy heavy whipping cream and saw that it expired on February 12th, 2009. That gave me pause. I am not sure why. But I paused. Hmmm. This has a longer USA shelf life than I do. Interesting.

Recently, I received an email from the new school with dates for my calendar. Not expiration dates – but welcome to our school dates – come join in the fun dates. Begin your new adventure dates. February has been oddly blank on my calendar for some time. My calendar is usually jammed packed and over-stuffed with lots of dates and times and things to remember. The going ons of life. February has been unfairly caught in the transition. It had a few birthdays penciled in, but that was it. No more. I now have 6 dates on my February calendar. A meeting at the school for Bear to set his schedule. A play at the school. A PTA meeting and a Middle School parents meeting. A date for a choral concert called Voices for Hospice. I have to say that is exciting – the kids’ new school is holding a concert to raise money for children with cancer. I have to say I am excited that we get to be a part of that. The life lessons are already beginning with this adventure.

And, finally, the Middle School dance. Hmmmm.

This also gave me pause. Bear is in elementary school now. But that plane ride across the ocean will transport him right into Middle School. I wonder if he will want to go to this dance. He has never been to one before. This is going to be interesting.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 4:04 pm

    Jeanne – Wow and Thank you so much! I am going to check out those sites and I really appreciate the information!

  2. January 13, 2009 2:05 pm

    Badass – not so much!

  3. January 13, 2009 1:26 pm

    Doh! I should say, when you get settled in Delhi, let me and we’ll meet up for coffee or something. It’s going to be a little overwhelming at first.:-)

    A friend of mine knows a great real estate agent if your housing isn’t already taken care of, and here is some links to expat groups that could be helpful, too.

    The Gurgaonite Connection (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/gurgaonite_connection/)

    I don’t have a lot of love for this group, but they are sometimes useful. Let’s say your grandmother is coming to visit from Kansas and you need to find out where in Delhi you can get Slimfast. This tends to be mostly for “ladies who lunch” and their types of “issues”, but if you’re looking for house staff – don’t. Most are overpriced because most of these ladies don’t care what things cost (ex. 40,000 rupee salary for a maid in a house with a dishwasher and washer/dryer who doesn’t sweep, clean bathrooms or windows, or do the dishes. Doesn’t cook either. Also expects a 2,500 rupee uniform cost quarterly along with a 1,000 rupee transportation monthly. Oh, and medical care. Oh and two weeks vacation.) A professional friend of mine, a German guy, said to me, “Can I apply for that job? It’s certainly easier than mine.”

    They can be quite judgmental as well. IMHO, they’re the group of expats that are living on western wages here, most of whom have never experienced this lifestyle wherever they’re from (think British Raj).

    If you’re looking for birthday cakes, nice places for tea, suggestions for restaurants to wow the boss, clowns for the kids’ birthday party, warnings about shops and servants who cheat you, day care, school reviews, tutors, extra curricular activities for kids, coffee mornings with the gals, this is the place to go.

    Yuni-Net (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Yuni-Net/)
    This group is all Delhi and the NCR Region. I find the people on this list more practical and direct. Much more helpful for those working for rupees and trying to make their way like all the other folk here. Lots of people looking for places to rent, furniture for sale, people recommending staff they’re leaving behind that haven’t been spoiled by a previous expat employer, vets, doctors, therapists… You can find those on the Gurgaonite group too, mostly massage therapists, though 🙂 I just feel more connected to this group – it has people looking for spiritual things, literary things, less material things and less of the gala benefit type things.

    InterNations (http://www.internations.com/)

    Internations is an invitation-only group of expats (and the locals that love them) and serves the entire world. Membership is free, but there are fees for different events. I’m the co-Ambassador for this group in Delhi. Typically once a month we do something, like listening to Sufi Ghazals at the Mosque in Nizamuddhin, or just a meet and greet High Tea, stuff like that. I try to instill a cultural learning component, while my co-ambassador handles the simply social stuff… He’s REALLY good at that. I would be glad to invite you. Simply email me with your email address, and I’ll invite you for membership. The membership is world-wide, so wherever you go, there are friends.

    Couchsurfing (http://www.couchsurfing.com/)

    This group is much younger, more the backpacker type, roaming the globe, but there are some fabulous locals who host these folks in their homes in the group as well. They typically have ad hoc events that are fabulously fun and everyone is very friendly. It a much more casual affair than InterNations, which feels more “professional networky” in my opinion, but both have their place here. Many people seem to belong to both. Membership again is free, but events usually have a fee or a “Bring Your Own Whatever” call.

    There are lots of other groups, but these are the ones I get mail from regularly and they all serve their own purposes. Let me know if you hear about others that should be added to the list and if you know of other expats in Delhi/Gurgaon,, by all means let me know. I (and others) can learn from their wisdom and experience, too.

    Email me at jeanne.heydecker@gmail.com and I can give you some pointers about things. Sorry about the long comments, but I hope they’ll prove useful to you.

    — Jeanne Heydecker

  4. January 13, 2009 1:05 pm

    Let me take this opportunity to welcome you to India. I am an American doing my second year here, the first one in Calcutta.I am located in Gurgaon now and live with my teenage son.

    I plan on readying everything you’ve written here and subscribe, so I can follow your exploits. My Calcutta blog may be helpful, especially if you’re bringing any of those pets in the photos – it talks about what we went through… http://american-in-calcutta.blogspot.com

    Since moving to Gurgaon, my blog centers more on business culture and a little travel and less culture clash, but feel free to stop by for a visit.
    http://american-in-delhi.blogspot.com . I have a blog roll there that has other American Expats living in India blogs. Feel free to check them all out.

    I’ll link to your site from my Delhi blog as well. 🙂

    Have a safe trip and if you are ever in Delhi, let’s meet!

    — Jeanne

  5. January 13, 2009 12:23 pm

    Pasteurization probably wouldn’t help you much, eh?

  6. January 13, 2009 8:11 am

    Miss Grace – very much so!

  7. January 12, 2009 5:18 pm

    Excitement!

  8. January 12, 2009 4:44 pm

    Hey: Yep, lots of things planned – class celebrations – a huge sleepover with way too many kids – and other little gatherings along the way – we will be back for the summer – so I am not ready to admit we are “moving” just yet – we’ll do a pool party in the neighborhood before we leave in August. And yes, some of all.

  9. January 12, 2009 4:41 pm

    So very exciting! How are the chickies feeling about this? Excited, nervous, dreading it? Some of all? Has there been any leaving gathering planned with their friends? Just curious.

  10. January 12, 2009 2:10 pm

    Wow! That’s a lot of things to be hit with right off the bat in a new school in a new country. Good luck with that.

    • January 12, 2009 3:01 pm

      Lola – 3 kids fill a calendar quickly. It’s really just the story of my life.

Leave a Reply

