Skip to content

DiD YoU SaY SHoTs???????????

December 29, 2008

Yeah, I am not a big fan of the shots. And I only like fun surprises – so, here is what you need to think about if you are planning to visit us in India – make a few doctors appointments. (And remember, I am not a medical professional – nor do I play one on this blog – check with a real doctor to see what s/he recommends.)

vaccine

clipart.com

You will want to at least consider…

Hepatitis A
(a two-part series – oh goody a shot with a sequel)
Hepatitis B
Polio
(a three-part series – even better)
Rabies (this might come in parts as well)
Flu (you should get this one anyway)
Tetnus
Typhoid
(can be an oral vaccine)
Chicken Pox

There is a lot of controversy over whether people who “live in” rather than “visit” India should take malaria pills. If you are just visiting – you probably will want to take them. Our doctor recommends it – the school does not. The concern is the potential for depression and nightmares with long term use. Couple that with some kids nearing their teenage years and this could be really fun!

So, anyshot – I have either gotten all of these or am scheduled to get them in the very near future.

On the absolutely nothing to do with India side of vaccines – but by the way, there is now a vaccine for shingles. If you have ever had the chicken pox, you are a potential candidate for shingles. Number one hubby has had shingles – not so much fun if you want to know the truth. So, I highly recommend this vaccine – especially for your parents, shingles generally hits people later in life.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 4:10 pm

    Malaria is not that bad … I opted not to put my kids on preventative doses of Chlorquine long-term … in three years the adults have had Malaria multiple times but only one kids has had it once … kids have super-powers to protect them. Medical research backs up my claim. 😉

  2. December 30, 2008 5:43 pm

    Miss Grace – I know – damned if you do, damned if you don’t

    Badass – normal actually sounds pretty good right now. 😎

  3. December 30, 2008 10:18 am

    Malaria sounds like a good diversion from normalcy.

  4. December 30, 2008 3:15 am

    It’s sort of a toss up on the malaria pills. On the one hand the side effects, on the other hand, who wants malaria?!?

  5. December 29, 2008 10:01 pm

    Hey – no you are not crazy – I fancied myself capable of recreating my CSS – when I have NEVER done it before. Yes, I am brilliant. Not. I am so lucky I got it back to this. AUGH!!! Most of the shots are done – we have rabies left. There are a lot though – we are lucky to live in such a clean country.

  6. December 29, 2008 9:26 pm

    I’m totally confused, because I swear when I clicked on over here there was a completely different layout, and now I’m back at the old. Am I tripping or what, girl?

    All I can say about all that shot business is OUCH!!!! Have fun with the three kids on that little technicality 😉

Leave a Reply

