Skip to content

WHaT iS YouR FaVoRiTe CoLoR…………..

December 24, 2008

My kids ask me this question at least once a week – usually because they are trying to draw a picture of me in a shirt that I would never (and I mean ever) wear  – but they want it to be in my favorite color – that’s so it looks just exactly like me. The pink curly hair and the very skinny legs don’t really resemble me very much either – but they are sure the shirt in my favorite color will be a dead give away. I love these pictures – they are funny and endearing. Plus, I get to have skinny legs and curly hair. I’ll take it!

juniper images

juniper images

The problem is – I don’t have a favorite color – or at least not just one favorite color – but it’s too complicated to explain to them that if I pick just one and only one favorite color – then I miss out on all the others. That’s a  whole lot of missing out. And, is it really enough to just say red when, at that moment, I might really be thinking barn red without any trace of purple whatsoever or bright, bright cherry red with a big fat hint of purple – like the cherry juice that stains your fingers. I am not so sure it is.

I have learned that you have to be careful how specific you are – for being too specific could literally mean hours searching for exactly the right shade through a box of  a thousand broken crayons with missing labels. And, alas, this is a task even my oldest child does not feel he can do himself. My children understand that all blues are not created equal. This is a gift that I would like to think I have given them – a little touch of creativity passed down. But when you are called in for the all out search and rescue for the missing color – you can quickly find yourself on the not so much fun side of things.

I also don’t want to confuse them by locking into just one color – if I pick a lovely shade of red today, does that forever rule out any hue of  brown. Ever? Boo and Hiss. And, yes, I can hear you now, “who has brown as a favorite color?” Well, sometimes I do – when you wear a color and get compliments, it can easily become your favorite color. And with retro being cool again – a brown shirt really sets off my pink curly hair.

Number on hubby has it all figured out – he looks over the top of his newspaper and says simply – black.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2008 12:08 pm

    I don’t have a favorite color or a favorite food or even a favorite song. I could give you a list of faves, but I can never pick just one. I look incredible in brown, so it is often my favorite. Black is always the best answer, but you can’t go wrong with burgundy. See what I mean?

  2. December 26, 2008 12:37 pm

    Loco – aw shucks! Thanks! And I have an unfair advantage – children – they provide an endless stream of writing material. 😎 My life has certainly had some challenges – but I think your writing comes from deeper places – hard earned words – it’s good to explore new methods – but your more intense word-smithing is what brings readers back again and again to your blog! Sometimes I think I might be too fluffy and am hoping that India will provide a whole new adventure in life and in writing! Happy New Year!

    Badass – you men are too smart! Simple is better and if we women could just remember that – maybe there is a new years resolution in there for me somewhere.

  3. December 26, 2008 7:01 am

    Brown is often one of my favorite colors, but normally, I’d agree with your husband… Black is a good color, too.

  4. Locohama permalink
    December 25, 2008 10:17 pm

    Hi Reason2,

    Sometimes I read your blog when I feel a mild case of writer’s block taking hold (like now). Something about your style of writing makes me feel more creative. The way you can take the simplest things like choosing a favorite color and turn it into a reason to write. I try to lighten up but I tend to lean towards heavy stuff. But, what your writing demonstrates with a great deal of charm is that light or heavy is irrelevant. The most important qualities of good writing is truth or even what Stephen Colbert called “truthiness” (gotta love that guy). You speak from the mind and heart and I love it. It inspires me. So thanks….
    By the way my favorite color depends on the season. In winter it is dark blue, in spring it’s purple, in summer it’s orange and in fall it’s, yes, brown. I don’t know why it changes seasonally but I’m sure there’s it has something to do with feelings (-:

    Hope you’re enjoying your holidays,
    Loco

Leave a Reply

