Skip to content

I ❤ CHeR

December 18, 2008

Yes, I heart Cher! That’s right – I said it – and I mean it! I really, really do!

I was at an electronics store yesterday with 500 of my shopping best friends. Lucky me.

While shopping for others, I decided a gift for me wouldn’t be so bad. It’s really not even a gift – I do need some kind of something to carry passports, snacks, a camera, a cell phone, a laptop, and a good book in on the plane. The Hello Kitty diaper bag I have been using might not cut it. So, I picked out a new computer bag for myself  and was trying to figure out if my laptop will fit in it – it’s got a little bit of a larger monitor than most because I used to deal a lot more with graphics than words.

Now it’s more words than graphics. Anybag, the new bag’s tag claimed that my laptop was too large and would not fit. No way, no how. But I am more optimistic than that – so I asked the clerk if I could return the bag if my laptop did not fit. He was quite possibly the most unhelpful check out clerk on the planet. Well, to be fair, maybe not the least helpful,  (unfortunately, there is a lot of competition out there this year for that precious title), but certainly (one of ) the least ambitious.

Here is a little tidbit on the customer service side of things – “I dunno” is not an answer unless you are younger than 8. “Let me find out” – now that is an answer worth spewing. And redirecting me to the website – Hello, my (un)friendly friend, I am physically standing right in front of you sans an actual computer in my hands – if I had it, I wouldn’t need to ask the question because I would just put it in the bag and see for myself if it fit.  See how that works? And we are standing pretty darn close to about 30 other employees. Someone (else) here has to know something. Really, please rethink that, k?

So I asked again if I could return the bag if the laptop did, in fact, not fit. According to him, it won’t fit. At least that is “what the math tells him”. What is it with the math this week? Is everyone a math professor now? And, fyi, I did not ask if it would fit – I asked if I could return it if it did not fit.  See the difference? I am optimistic remember – glass very half full – computer bag not over full. See?

Ta dah and wah lah – it fits! Math Smath. No offense Pathogoras. But sometimes eyeballing it works just as well as a ruler. Bear would be so confused. SHHHH.

What does that have to do with Cher. Nothing really.

Except that, while at the store, I walked by the CDs. I don’t really own any CDs. I mostly listen to talk radio – the Sports Junkies and news radio. But, I thought that possibly some of the music I really like might not exactly be available in India – especially since the last time I really updated my musical tastes, I was still in college. I gave up Donny Osmond many, many moons ago – but the other artists I like are still older than me. Let’s just say they  have been around a (very long) while.

Oh goody, more gifts for me. I bought the three CDs that I do not want to live in India without. The best of Cher, the best of Jimmy Buffet, and the best of Tracy Chapman. I already own the best of Alabama because my wedding song is on it. And as a bonus, the best of Cher cd has a little Sonny sunshine on it – Sonny and Cher singing “I got you babe”. Life is good.

So, musically speaking, I am ready for India. Bring it.

And just in case you heart Cher too – here is if I could turn back time courtesy of the almight You Tube.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2008 1:17 pm

    lola – now I love you even more!

    karan – i will check that out

    josie – hey girl, i miss you! You are right – Prince was a favorite – but I don’t know how to spell what he is called now – i have an ipod – but i don’t use it – lazy schmazy – oh yes, the days of crisco and aluminum foil – that was the life. 😎

  2. Josie permalink
    December 19, 2008 9:46 am

    Alright, what happened to Prince. I seem to recall that being one of your favorites “way back when”. And you can’t tell me that you don’t have an ipod?? I do have some memories of Jimmy Buffett being on the radio when we were scorching ourselves with crisco and baby oil by the pool as stupid kids. HMMM that may be where my affection for him began. So funny that you are attached as well.

  3. December 19, 2008 9:40 am

    I think best Christmas shopping @ http://www.oxyshopping.com

  4. December 19, 2008 12:55 am

    Oh, honey, I drive around in my gangsta jeep singing Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves at the top of my lungs! I LOVE Cher, and I have that “Best of” on my iPod. I’m not feeling it on your other picks, but Cher is the greatest!

    Oh, and thank you so much for my Christmas present. I played that game over and over, and my highest score was eight shoes to the head. It might just be the best present I ever got after my buckin’ bronco and my puppy!

Leave a Reply

