Skip to content

When I’m not writing…..

July 20, 2012

artwork from clipart.com

Which should be never. But, alas, when I’m not writing, I am usually reading something.

As for books, I write book reviews over at A Reason To Read. So many of my book choices are not my own.

But I am a big ole lover of magazines. And I have subscriptions to several. They are…

Readers Digest – I love how quickly I can read through this magazine and I love the jokes!

Writers Digest – author interviews, prompts, advice, contests – really just a little bit of everything.

Obscura Journal – this only comes out twice a year – but it couples beautiful photography with storytelling.

Poets & Writers – lots of info on contests, grants, and seminars.

The Writer – they tout themselves as having “advice and inspiration” for writers – that’s pretty much sums it up. Oh and some pretty wonderful author interviews and articles by top notch editors/agents.

The Sun - this is a lovely mix of interviews, non-fiction, fiction, and poetry. Truly something for everyone – except the advertisers. This fun little gem has no ads.

The New Yorker - because there is something very old school in me that believes if you want to be a writer worth your weight in ink, you must at least know what’s on the front cover of this magazine.

And, yes, I have them all come to me in hard copy right to my mailbox. That way I am getting something besides bills. And, I can stick it in my purse in case I am stuck waiting somewhere, which almost always never happens. 8-)

Did I leave anything off the list? What are you reading when you aren’t writing?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    July 22, 2012 8:34 am

    Makes me want to go run out and find a copy of The New Yorker. My Dad was an avid reader of a few of these. (: Mostly I read books… I’m happy to find out about ‘A Reason to Read’. Thanks for sharing.

    • July 26, 2012 9:51 am

      I do enjoy The New Yorker – although it leaves me feeling wildly unsuccessful 8-)

Leave a Reply

