Skip to content

When panic is a good thing………

May 31, 2012

Apparently we will be talking about the big “S” word next – synopsis – because a real-live literary agent just asked me for one for The Alligator Purse. Yikes.

So I am a little panicked – but I am also all sorts of motivated.

That’s good, right?

This is where you nod your head wildly in agreement. Thanks.

When I got the email, I waited an entire 15 seconds before writing back (didn’t want to seem desperate), politely thanked her for her interest, and asked if I could have a little time to write, uhm I mean, tweak it. That was on the outside. On the inside, I felt like this poor woman.

Sadly, I am minus the adorable shoes and the cute up-do. Yes, I might really be screwed. 8-)

I wanted to scream – “that is amazing – but are you serious?” And then, “what exactly do you mean by that?”

So I am guessing that writing and submitting a synopsis might be a tad of problem if you have not finished your book yet – but maybe it won’t be – we shall definitely see.

Here is what I know so far…

If you want to write and submit your work, you will definitely want to consider investing in the Writers Market. It’s basically a listing of who is buying, what they are buying, and how they want it served up on the page. If you are thinking “that would save me a heck of a lot of time,” you’d be absolutely correct.

But the Writers Market also has helpful articles and a glossary of literary terms. So I went to my literature bible and looked up synopsis. I kind of thought I knew what it meant – but this might be a big deal so I wanted to be sure.

According to WM, a synopsis is “a brief summary of a story, novel, or play. As part of a book proposal, it is a comprehensive summary condensed in a page or page and a half, single-spaced.”

That is what I thought. But it kinda, sorta sounds like you need an ending. Dear heavens. Now what?

Well, Rachelle Gardner is a literary agent with Books & Such and she wrote this post about crafting a pitch. It covers 11 essential questions that should be answered when an author is trying to sell her book.

Then, I found this…The Novel Synopsis at Fiction Writers. Whew. I have also heard that you do not want to give away the ending of the book.

I don’t know if it addresses everything, but this is where I am going to start.

Right now.

So, bye bye.

And, yes, I will post my synopsis when I am done. Just promise not to laugh at it.

I mean it, Pinky Swear it .

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    June 1, 2012 6:39 am

    Awesome! You have every right to panic- I’m pretty sure all of us would. Haha

    Your posts always make me laugh, and teach me something at the same time. Thanks for writing this. And CONGRATS- I know big things are in store for you!

    • June 1, 2012 2:19 pm

      Thanks so much! I love the name of your blog – running in heels – that makes me laugh b/c I would totally break my neck if I tried that. 8-)

  2. May 31, 2012 10:06 am

    Congrats!!! And best wishes in your synopsis…I was just there, in that place. Now I’m waiting….

    • May 31, 2012 10:32 am

      Thanks Holly. Waiting is good – it means you are done writing. Here’s to waiting. But not for too long. 8-) Congrats on your book deal and your son’s amazing journey!

Trackbacks

  1. Haiku Contest – a followup…… « A Reason To Write

Leave a Reply

