Skip to content

Cheeseburger in Paradise…………

May 16, 2010

I have been very guilty of not exactly embracing the cuisine of India. Some of it I really like but most of it I honestly just haven’t tried. Alas, I am one of those people who will go to a restaurant I have been to 12 times, read the menu cover to cover, and order the same exact thing I had the last 12 times I was there. And enjoy every bite of it, by the way.

One of the things I really miss from home is the food I know and love. Most of it isn’t that healthy – that is why tastes so good! But all of it is recognizable and I am a horrible creature of habit who thrives in the predictable.

So when we were in Beijing and I saw “cheeseburger” on the menu of a western hotel, I had to read it twice just to make sure I wasn’t imagining things. I had to consider the religious implications in Beijing and mull over the possibility that this “cheeseburger” might be a real, recognizable “cheeseburger”. Be still my stomach.

And oh man, it was so good that I ordered it two nights in a row. With a glass of American white wine. Sweet.

The kids enjoyed hot dogs – yep, both nights – they said they were even better than 7-11 hot dogs. They ate them so quickly that I did not get a picture of them.

I know it is at least shameful and probably verging on criminal that we did not partake of the local foods available. But at least we did not eat here.

Who would have thought that there would be a Hooters in Beijing? Not I – that is for sure.

But I did take some pictures of some food at a market just so you would not totally miss out. It’s really nice how they labeled almost everything – and in English none the less.

Those who were eating the market food seemed to really enjoy it. Maybe next time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 1:22 pm

    The food that you showed looked good till I saw the fish I would not be able to eat because it has tail and head still on it. I love to try new things but something I will just not eat sorry. Thank for sharing the photos with us I know i’m few weeks late in posting,

    • May 22, 2010 9:20 pm

      It did look good – I was surprised how similar it looked to what we eat in America – you always hear that “American” Chinese food is not “real” Chinese food – but it looked yummy – except for the fish! LOL!

  2. May 18, 2010 5:26 pm

    I’m with you, sister. ‘Tis better to partake of the known…..

Leave a Reply

