Skip to content

What not to wear………….

November 2, 2009

When you travel around and visit different religious sites, it is very good to be prepared – to know what is considered acceptable attire. Most people don’t want to unwittingly insult their hosts – count me among those people. I am careful and try to pay attention to the rules. I take a scarf to cover my head and wear longer pants or skirts. I keep my shoulders covered and try to leave all leather materials at home. I know to take my shoes off before I enter and to walk away from idols backwards. I know not to point my feet out in front of me when sitting on the ground.

I have been around the temple block so to say.

H.o.w.e.v.e.r., when you are in Old Delhi and you visit the Jama Masjid Mosque, short sleeves are also a no no. Ooops.

But, have no fear, the keepers of the mosque are gracious hosts and they will offer you a robe to wear insist that you wear a robe so as not to embarrass yourself.

I will leave it to you to decide whether you will wear short sleeves in the Jama Masjid. (And men, you can laugh it up all you want. But if you wear shorts, they will give you a wrap – read skirt – to cover up those too sexy legs of yours.)

jamamasjid robe

4 Comments leave one →
  1. leadfoot permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:03 pm

    The mystery and stress over what to wear to the Marine Ball finally reveals itself!

  2. November 3, 2009 8:34 pm

    Now, that’s a look! You’d think they would keep those robes simple, as in black, so as not to offend ;)

  3. November 2, 2009 10:08 pm

    don’t hate me because I am beautiful – tee heee……..

  4. November 2, 2009 8:20 pm

    Those polka dots are HOT!

Leave a Reply

