Skip to content

A kick in the rear……..

October 13, 2009

Yesterday was a big fat homesick day and I wallowed in it. For a while – then I literally got a kick in the rear – or a bump in the bumper – and was reminded of why being here is such a good adventure for my family.

I was riding to school on a busy road when the driver behind us hit the back of our car. It was a jolt, but I knew right away it was nothing serious. I was on my way to a meeting with the elementary school principal and I did not want to be late. So, it wasn’t the best thing that could happen on the way to school. However, it was not – by a long shot – the worst thing either.

And in India, fender benders are handled so differently. Most of the time neither driver even stops. A car is just a car. Nothing to get too upset about. (It is interesting to note that there really aren’t many super nice cars on the road here – it is kind of a waste of money because it would be nearly impossible to keep them in mint condition.) The challenge for me will be to embrace this more patient, uneffected mode of living – while still teaching my children to value the blessings we have – not to take them for granted. A car is certainly not disposable so we do need to take care of it – but ultimately it is just a car. A little dent here and there gives it character and a history of the places we have been.

In the U.S., a car accident of any magnitude would involve a lot of time, a lot of paperwork, time in the repair shop – frustration. Here a bump is simply a bump. You can move quickly on from it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 11:05 pm

    I guess it’s no big deal if you don’t care about your car and no one gets hurt. Not exactly how I roll. You should have seen my epic meltdown Monday morning when I was forced half off the road and a tree branch scratched my truck. I freaked OUT, but it got me nowhere of course. I did have a good laugh at myself later, though, as I’m quite creative when I’m in a rage.

  2. October 14, 2009 9:54 pm

    My road rage would be so useless there (-:
    I’m that guy jumping out of his car spewing obscenities at…no one. He didn’t even stop LOL

  3. Nancy permalink
    October 14, 2009 2:29 pm

    That’s what yesterday was! Just a bump in the road. :)

  4. October 14, 2009 12:24 pm

    Perhaps we in the US could take a little lesson from this. A little bump in the road is not so bad in the long run of things.

Leave a Reply

