Skip to content

Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens………

December 15, 2008

Ever since I starting writing this blog, I have begun reading blogs. Some people find me and lead me to theirs – which is tres cool. And, sometimes I stumble onto a blog. I am not sure how the great universe of blog finding works and I wish I had all day to read, read, read. But, alas, life is busy with facebook and all, so I have to limit myself.

But I wanted to share some of the blogs I am following with you. Many of these blogs are written by adults for adults and it turns out if you use some bad (or at least interesting) words every now and then, you generate more traffic. So for my Sandy Duncan readers (translation – anyone who might be easily offended), put your seat belts on – some of the titles and their content might surprise you. (And, nope, I don’t agree with everything they say.)

My blogging BFF is Lola at Sassy Mama Says. She leaves me (a lot of) comments, so how can I not love her. And she is true to her name – SASSY! In fact, she is the recipient of my first ever blog award. Which is only fair, because she gave me my first and only (sniff sniff) award. Lola gets the “I refuse to drink the Kool-Aid award.” She promises not to run it over with her jeep. We’ll just have to wait and see if she can really keep that promise.

i-refuse-to-drink-the-kool-aid2

Next is Loco. He is a black American living in Japan teaching English. His blogs are long – but there is always a point. He has had a rough life and sometimes he comes across as pretty angry. But he is definitely worth reading. Especially as an American who is about to travel to distant lands. Since he is in Japan and is learning a lot, he gets the “ah, grasshopper” award.

ah-grasshopper

There are several Americans living in Delhi who write blogs. Mrs. Smith is one of them. She home schools her 7 kids – who, by the way, provide her with a lot of material. She inspires me because she can find the time to write. I have no (legitimate) excuses! She does not write as frequently as she used to, but her blogs make me very excited for our new adventure.

i-homeschool-7-kids

BadAssGeek gets my vote for a great blog title. It’s pretty BadAss. And he starts every post with “in which”. So, in Which I like his blog name, here is his award.

in-which1

There are some other blogs I really like too. I don’t know them well enough to award them yet, but I am definitely a fan.

Miss Disgrace – a young single parent with a great way of writing things

Black Hockey Jesus – As far as I can tell, he is neither black nor is he Jesus and his blog is really titled “Wind in Your Vagina” which is a quote from his 4-year-old daughter – it’s not meant to be vulgar (at least that’s the impression I get) – although I am sure his title attracts more traffic. If the title offends you, you should probably also know that he uses his imagination a lot – so if you are a literal reader – enter with care.

There are a few other blogs I check in on but they aren’t too busy posting  a lot – so when they start sharing more, I will tell you how to get a looksy at those too.

But for now, these are a few of my favorites things. And, no, I do not like it when the dog bites or the bee stings.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2008 1:42 am

    I’ve been checking in on you ever since you found me :)

    I’m pretty sure BHJ is Black AND Jesus. And maybe a little hockey too? Who can tell.

  2. December 18, 2008 8:17 pm

    Loco – flash on – flash off – flash on – flash off – okay that was another good one – I got the karate kid in there – wax on grasshopper. Seriously – flash away.

  3. Locohama permalink
    December 18, 2008 8:08 pm

    hope you don’t mind, I’m flashing my Avatar award around a little (-:

    Loco

  4. December 17, 2008 11:55 pm

    btw, The Grasshopper…what’s the significance of the grasshopper? I keep thinking about the TV series Kung Fu and the master would say “Snatch the pebbles frim my hand Grasshopper” and David Carradine could never do it…so am I supposed to be trying to snatch some pebbles from somebody’s hand or something, or what? hehehe

    • December 17, 2008 11:58 pm

      yep – i am not even positive I referred to it correctly – but it makes me think of the Asia and the wise teacher. And, no I am not suggesting you are snatching things – just your readers attention. 8-)

  5. December 17, 2008 11:51 pm

    First of all I want to thank the academy of Artist relocating to India for the Award…thank you so much!!! And I walk to think my readers (like you members of the academy) who tolerate my rants and profanitiy and are able to uncover the intent behind and within it, and I want to thank some Japanese people (you know who you are) for helping me to realize that the power to heal myself was within me all along, and I want to give a big shout out to my Mom for without her I would surely be saner and half as edgy. and to my baby’s mama in Sing-sing, hang on baby I’m sending you them long johns and Timberland Pumps next week (that was a joke!)

    seriously, thanks Reason2 (-;
    Loco

  6. December 17, 2008 9:18 am

    I don’t know why it has taken me this long to get over here, so I’m sorry if you think I’ve been ignoring you. Thank you so much for the award and for saying such nice things about me! I’m adding you to my feed reader right away.

    • December 17, 2008 1:14 pm

      not to worry – it’s great to have you here and I thoroughly enjoy your blog – thanks for sharing!

  7. Laura permalink
    December 16, 2008 9:49 pm

    I’ve got a favorite you should check out – it’s Carmen at
    Mom to the Screaming Masses (http://momtothescreamingmasses.typepad.com/). And how do you get some many great comments and people reading your blog? (Aside from writing frequently and well, I mean). No one who doesn’t already know me seems to want to read mine! ;-(

    • December 16, 2008 9:52 pm

      Hey
      Have you been posting on yours? I have checked a few times and have not seen any recent posts – maybe I am entering the address wrong. I put a lot of tags on my posts so that people can find it – write something about facebook – that is sure to help. hee hee Also I have my blog address under my picture in facebook. That reminds people to look. And I sent an email to practically everyone and let them know my blog address. I am not sure how some people find me – but it is sure fun when they do!

  8. December 16, 2008 11:40 am

    Lola – it is what it is – you are loved! And you gave me an award instruction free – it’s the least I could do for you!

  9. December 16, 2008 12:36 am

    Oh, lordy! You might not want to send people my way on a day when I’m insanely happy about shoes being launched at our president’s head.

    I thank you very much, love. You know I love the love! At least your awards don’t come with instructions and rules.

Leave a Reply

